USA Bobsled/Skeleton Features Meyers Talor and Hof...

Meyers Talor and Hoffman win women’s bobsled selection race; Bascue and Valdes victorious in men’s two-man bobsled

Nov. 20, 2020, 5:08 p.m. (ET)

Contact: Amanda Bird, USABS Marketing and Communications Director 

(518) 354-2250,

Meyers Talor and Hoffman win women’s bobsled selection race;

Bascue and Valdes victorious in men’s two-man bobsled

Lake Placid, N.Y. (November 19, 2020)- After taking last season off to have her first child, Nico, Elana Meyers Taylor (Douglasville, Ga.) is back on track. Meyers Taylor teamed with Sylvia Hoffman (Arlington, Texas) to win today’s women’s bobsled selection race by five-hundredths of a second, while Codie Bascue (Whitehall, N.Y.) paired with Carlo Valdes (Newport Beach, Calif.) to win the men’s two-man race with a significant lead of 0.22 seconds.

“This has been a crazy year, and we are so grateful for the work the Olympic Regional Development Authority has put in to make this happen,” said USA Bobsled Head Coach Mike Kohn. “We are so thankful to be back on ice and racing. We’ve been waiting for months to get back here, and I felt butterflies today. I love this. I am appreciative of the coaching staff for all of their hard work to get our athletes ready for today, especially Marc Van Den Berg, Brian Shimer, and David Keirnan for spending 12 hours a day in the garage getting sleds prepped.”

In the women’s race, Meyers Taylor and Hoffman were a powerful combination at the starting line, pushing off the block with the fastest start times of 5.46 and 5.45 seconds. Meyers Taylor expertly guided the sled to the finish in 58.04 and 58.47 seconds to win her first race back since the 2018-2019 season.

Reigning World Champion Kaillie Humphries (Carlsbad, Calif.) teamed with Lolo Jones (Des Moines, Iowa) in the first heat and Lauren Gibbs (Los Angeles, Calif.) in the second heat. Humphries and Gibbs secured their spots on the national team when they won the 2020 World Championships in Altenberg, Germany last season. Both athletes were required to participate in selection races. 

Humphries’ bye allowed her the opportunity to give two push athletes a chance to compete today. This was Jones’ first race back since 2018. Jones pushed Humphries to a first run start time of 5.58 seconds, and the duo glided to the finish in 58.15 seconds. Gibbs and Humphries combined forces for a start time of 5.50 seconds, and Humphries clocked the fastest downtime of the second heat to edge closer to the lead. Humphries’ combined time of 1:56.56 placed her just 0.05 seconds off the pace in second.


Nicole Vogt (Dallas, Texas) and Nicole Brungardt (Norfolk, Neb.) were in fourth position after a first run downtime of 58.54, but the pair rallied back in the second heat with the third fastest time of 58.81 to move into third with a total of 1:57.35. 


Brittany Reinbolt (Searcy, Ark.) and rookie Emily Renna (Fairport, N.Y.) finished fourth with a two-run total of 1:57.38.


In the men’s race, Bascue and Valdes teamed together for the first time since 2018. Bascue and Valdes were consistent off the block with start times of 5.13 and 5.14 seconds. Bascue, coming back this season from an injury, threaded together runs of 56.51 and 57.19 seconds for a combined time of 1:53.70 to secure the victory. 


Geoff Gadbois (Milton, Vt.) and Kris Horn (Pembroke, Mass.) finished second with a total time of 1:53.91. Gadbois and Horn clocked starts of 5.17 and 5.20 seconds for runs of 56.72 and 57.20 seconds, respectively.


Hunter Church (Cadyville, N.Y.) and Josh Williamson (Lake Mary, Fla.) clocked a two-run total time of 1:54.14 for third place after pushing start times of 5.24 in both heats for downtimes of 56.71 and 57.43 seconds.


Frank Del Duca (Bethel, Me.) and Chris Avery (San Diego, Calif.) were fourth in 1:54.43, followed by Sam Moeller (Houston, Texas) and Boone Niederhofer (San Antonio, Texas) with a 1:54.54. Moeller and Niederhofer posted start times of 5.09 and 5.12 seconds, fastest of the competition. Tyler Hickey (Geneva, Ill.) and Charlie Volker (Fairhaven, N.J.) finished sixth in 1:55.01.

Women’s bobsled and men’s two-man bobsled races continue tomorrow. Please contact USABS Marketing & Communications Director Amanda Bird at 518-354-2250, or, with media inquiries.


Race one results:


Women’s bobsled

1. Elana Meyers Taylor and Sylvia Hoffman 1:56.51 (58.04, 58.47);

2. Kaillie Humphries and Lolo Jones/Lauren Gibbs 1:56.56 (58.15, 58.41);

3. Nicole Vogt and Nicole Brungardt 1:57.35 (58.54, 58.81);

4. Brittany Reinbolt and Emily Renna 1:57.38 (58.49, 58.89);


Men’s two-man bobsled

1. Codie Bascue and Carlo Valdes 1:53.70 (56.51, 57.19);

2. Geoff Gadbois and Kris Horn 1:53.92 (56.72, 57.20);

3. Hunter Church and Josh Williamson 1:54.14 (56.71, 57.43);

4. Frank Del Duca and Chris Avery 1:54.43 (56.96, 57.47);

5. Sam Moeller and Boone Neiderhofer 1:54.54 (57.18, 57.36);

6. Tyler Hickey and Charlie Volker 1:55.01 (57.31, 57.70);


About USA Bobsled & Skeleton

USA Bobsled & Skeleton (USABS), based in Lake Placid, N.Y., is the national governing body for the sports of bobsled and skeleton in the United States. USABS would like to thank its sponsors, suppliers, and contributors for their support: BMW of North America, Under Armour, Omaze, Kampgrounds of America, Snap Fitness, Hammer Strength, and Boomerang Carnets. For more information, please visit the USABS website at