Reinbolt repeat winner of USA Women's Bobsled National Team Trials to earn driver's seat of USA-3

Oct. 14, 2017, 11:47 a.m. (ET)

Contact: Amanda Bird, USABS Marketing & Communications Director, (518) 354-2250,
Kristen Gowdy, USABS Media and Marketing Assistant, (719) 722-0522,

Reinbolt repeat winner of USA Women’s Bobsled National Team Trials to earn driver’s seat of USA-3

LAKE PLACID, N.Y. (Oct. 14, 2017)- Brittany Reinbolt (Searcy, Ark.) teamed with Lolo Jones (Des Moines, Iowa) to secure her second USA Women’s Bobsled National Team Trials win at Mount Van Hoevenberg today, earning her the driver’s seat of USA-3. Olympic medalists Elana Meyers Taylor (Douglasville, Ga.) and Jamie Greubel Poser (Newtown, Pa.) earned byes onto the team thanks to World Championship medal performances last season, and Reinbolt secured her spot as the third and final pilot by sweeping trials. The full roster for the USA Women’s Bobsled National Team will be named at 7 p.m. EST tonight.

“It’s a huge weight off my shoulders, but the battle isn’t over because now we have to qualify three sleds for the Olympics,” Reinbolt said. “As excited as I am, I’m still heartbroken because there are athletes who didn’t do as well as they wanted to. Kristi [Koplin], Nicole [Vogt] and Katie [Eberling] have challenged me every single step of the way, and as happy as I am about winning Team Trials, they’re still my teammates.”

Reinbolt and Jones powered the sled off the start in 5.53 seconds for a run of 59.28 seconds, which was 0.09 seconds off the pace set by Nicole Vogt (Dallas, Texas) and Maureen Ajoku (San Jose, Calif.). Reinbolt and Jones rallied in the second heat for a run of 1:00.42 to overtake Vogt and Ajoku by 0.10 seconds to claim the lead with a combined time of 1:59.70. Vogt and Ajoku were runners-up in 1:59.80.

“I think I tried too hard and wanted it too badly on the first run,” Reinbolt said. “I think Lolo and I both felt that way. In the second run, we just relaxed and let the sled fly and it worked out in our favor.”

Kristi Koplin (Sandy, Utah) and Briauna Jones (Charlotte, N.C.) were third with an aggregate time of 1:59.85.

Meyers Taylor and Greubel Poser were forerunners for the women’s race today since they already have a spot on the national team. Greubel Poser paired with Lauren Gibbs (Los Angeles, Calif.) for the fastest times of the day, 58.79 and 59.92 seconds.

Meyers Taylor teamed with three different push athletes over the last two days to unofficially set the track record three times. She pushed a 5.41 with Ajoku yesterday, a 5.37 with Kehri Jones (Killeen, Texas) in today’s second heat, and 5.35 with Aja Evans (Chicago, Ill.) in today’s opener. All times are unofficial because Meyers Taylor was not racing, but she is on target to break records throughout this season. Meyers Taylor slid a total time of 1:58.83 today after runs of 58.71 and 1:00.12.

“This is ridiculous,” Meyers Taylor said. “This is the fastest we’ve ever been, from top to bottom, and it’s really encouraging. To set these kinds of times with various people is really a testament to our push athletes and the hard work everyone has put in this offseason.”

USA Bobsled National Team Trials continue on Tuesday with the four-man race, and the men’s team will be named on Wednesday.

For media inquiries, please contact Amanda Bird, USABS Marketing & Communications Director, at, or at (518) 354-2250.


1. Brittany Reinbolt and Lolo Jones 1:59.70 (59.28, 1:00.42);

2. Nicole Vogt and Maureen Ajoku 1:59.80 (59.19, 1:00.61);

3. Kristi Koplin and Briauna Jones 1:59.85 (59.36, 1:00.49);


Elana Meyers Taylor and Aja Evans/Kehri Jones 1:58.83 (58.71, 1:00.12)

Jamie Greubel Poser and Lauren Gibbs 1:58.71 (58.79, 59.92);

About USA Bobsled & Skeleton
USA Bobsled & Skeleton (USABS), based in Lake Placid, N.Y., is the national governing body for the sports of bobsled and skeleton in the United States. USABS would like to thank its sponsors, suppliers and contributors for their support: BMW of North America, Under Armour, Kampgrounds of America, Thorne, Boomerang Carnets, Hudl Technique, Tesa Tape, PVS International, Ferris Mfg. Corp, Stress Engineering, Machintek, deBotech and Carpenter. For more information, please visit the USBSF website at