USA Bobsled/Skeleton Features Seven USABS athletes...

Seven USABS athletes honored with annual team awards

June 28, 2016, 12:20 p.m. (ET)

USABS award winners (from left to right): Terra Evans, Nathan Crumpton, Carlo Valdes, Annie O'Shea, Jamie Greubel Poser, Evan Weinstock, Kyle Brown.

Colorado Springs, Colo. (June 27, 2016) - USA Bobsled and Skeleton concluded a historic 2015-16 season with its annual awards banquet June 25 at the Colorado Springs Olympic Training Center. The ceremony also marked the end of the national team’s annual camp.

Seven bobsled and skeleton athletes were recognized for their exceptional achievements and work ethic during the 2015-16 season. Evan Weinstock (Las Vegas, Nev.) earned the MVP award for displaying resilience and a team-first mindset throughout his rookie season. Weinstock earned three medals on the North American Cup pushing for Justin Olsen (San Antonio, Texas) and Codie Bascue (Whitehall, N.Y.).

“Receiving this award means a great deal to me and I believe it could have be received by any of my teammates,” Weinstock said. “To be recognized by this organization for all the work that was put into this season is truly humbling. The rapid progression of Justin as a pilot gave me the opportunity to compete at a high level and uphold the values of the organization.”

Skeleton athlete Nathan Crumpton (Park City, Utah) was named Rookie of the Year. Crumpton earned his first national team berth this year and spent the season primarily on the World Cup circuit, also spending time on the Intercontinental Cup. Crumpton earned a season-best fifth-place finish on the Lake Placid track in World Cup action and took eighth at World Championships.

“I'm honored the coaching staff would select me for the Rookie of the Year award,” Crumpton said. “The season definitely had its ups and downs, but it ended on a high note at World Championships, and I'm glad the whole team was able to celebrate a successful season at the annual gala.”

Jamie Greubel Poser (Newtown, Pa.) capped the most successful season of her career with the Bobsled Athlete of the Year award. Greubel Poser earned six podium finishes in eight World Cup races to earn a career-best second-place finish in the overall women’s bobsled standings.

The Skeleton Athlete of the Year award went to Annie O’Shea (Port Jefferson Station, N.Y.). O’Shea had a breakout season, earning two medals — including a gold in Lake Placid — on the World Cup circuit. She finished fourth overall in the World Cup standings.

Terra Evans (Phoenix, Ariz.) and Carlo Valdes (Newport Beach, Calif.) took home the Women’s and Men’s Bobsled Athletes’ Choice awards, respectively. Members of the national teams vote on one athlete to earn the award.

In her rookie season, Evans pushed Elana Meyers Taylor (Douglasville, Ga.) to a first-place finish on the St. Moritz stop of the European Cup as Meyers Taylor returned after rehabilitating from a concussion.

“I did everything I could to learn the tasks quickly and efficiently,” she said. “I didn't want to be like a deer in headlights, always in the way. I wanted to be able to help my teammates at all times. I am surrounded by a great group of athletes and I just wanted to do my part to help with the success of the team.”

Valdes, in his second season on the World Cup tour, pushed Steven Holcomb (Park City, Utah) to two World Cup medals, including a gold in Lake Placid. The two-man team of Valdes and Nick Cunningham (Monterey, Calif.) also took fourth in Winterberg.

Valdes credited the award to his teammates.

“It's a great honor to be voted by my teammates,” he said. “It means a lot to me because we have all become good friends and they push me to better myself each day. I'd do anything for those guys.”

Kyle Brown (Concord, N.H.) received the Skeleton Athletes’ Choice award after spending the year on both the Intercontinental Cup and World Cup circuits. Brown earned two bronze medals on the ICC and finished sixth and ninth in two World Cup races.

“We have a great opportunity to be the best nation in sliding sports and it all starts with teamwork,” Brown said. “No one ever wins alone, and that is the attitude that we have taken upon ourselves to rise to the top. Every successful moment is earned and celebrated together, as a team.”

The weeklong camp, which concluded with the awards ceremony, included group workouts, team-building activities such as whitewater rafting and sessions that focused on USABS values, nutrition and social media. 

Kristen Gowdy, Media and Marketing Assistant,, (719) 722-0522

Related Athletes

head shot

Nathan Crumpton

head shot

Jamie Greubel Poser

head shot

Terra Evans

head shot

Kyle Brown

head shot

Annie O'Shea

head shot

Carlo Valdes

head shot

Evan Weinstock