Greubel and Holcomb win bobsled selection races Friday night

Oct. 26, 2013, 1:05 a.m. (ET)

Contact: Amanda Bird, USBSF Marketing & Communications Director
(518) 354-2250,

Greubel and Holcomb win bobsled selection races Friday night

PARK CITY, Utah (Oct. 25, 2013)- Jamie Greubel (Newtown, Pa.) teamed with Emily Azevedo (Chico, Calif.) to win the final women’s bobsled national team selection race at the Utah Olympic Park tonight, while Steven Holcomb (Park City, Utah), Curt Tomasevicz (Shelby, Neb.), Steve Langton (Melrose, Mass.) and Chris Fogt (Alpine, Utah) debuted the Night Train 2 to lead the first of two men’s four-man bobsled competitions.

“This was a great experience,” Greubel said. “We just switched into the new BMW sleds and I felt a really good connection with the sled right away.  I’ve been enjoying practice and trying to systematically work on my driving.”

Greubel and Azevedo burst off the start block in 5.19 seconds, and Greubel set the pace for the women’s race by clocking the fastest run of the first heat, 49.62 seconds.  The duo maintained their lead in the second run after posting a time of 49.79 for a total time of 1:39.41 to finish 0.30 seconds ahead of the competition. 

“Jamie’s been driving great all week, and we decided this week that we were going to win this today and we wholeheartedly believed it,” Azevedo said. “We came out here ready to go, and we’re really happy with the result.”

Elana Meyers (Douglasville, Ga.) already has a spot on the team based on last season’s results, and she teamed with Tracey Stewart (Richmond, Calif.) tonight to test race sled set-ups.  Meyers and Stewart clocked speedy starts of 5.18 and 5.19 seconds for runs of 49.75 and 49.96 seconds, respectively, to finish second (1:39.71).

“It’s been a good couple of weeks getting ready for the World Cup and I’m excited to head to Sochi, get some solid training there,” Meyers said. “The speed of our brakeman [has been really impressive].  We have so many strong, powerful brakeman, and it’s going to be exciting to see how this all turns out.”

Jazmine Fenlator (Wayne, N.J.) and Lolo Jones (Des Moines, Iowa) finished just 0.03 seconds ahead of Bree Schaaf (Bremerton, Wash.) and Lauryn Williams (Miami, Fla.) to secure third.  Fenlator and Jones posted runs of 49.76 and 50.16 to make a strong bid for the national team with a combined time of 1:39.92.  Schaaf and Williams were fourth with a two-run total of 1:39.95. 

Tonight concludes the women’s bobsled selection races.  Three pilots and six brakeman will be named to the national team tomorrow morning.

The men kicked off the first of two four-man bobsled races tonight.  Holcomb and his Night Train crew of Tomasevicz, Langton and Fogt tied the push record set by the Swiss team piloted by Martin Annen at the 2002 Winter Olympic Games with a start time of 4.72 seconds in the first heat.  Despite a few bumps down the track, USA-1 slid to the finish comfortably in first with a finish time of 47.90 seconds.

“The start is obviously fantastic,” Holcomb said. “Four-man is my forte. It’s a lot more fun when you have all three guys hanging out with you…these guys are tough.  They are the best in the world right now at what they do.”

Holcomb’s crew again dominated at the start in the second run, and Holcomb piloted the Night Train 2 to the finish in 48.09 seconds for a total time of 1:35.99.  The crew finished 0.54 seconds ahead of the field to secure their first four-man win of the season.  Holcomb has a bye onto the national team based on results from last season, but he refuses to take trials lightly.

“We’ve still got one more race tomorrow,” Holcomb said. “We went in today like it was a World Cup race. It went well…I’m excited.”

Nick Cunningham (Monterey, Calif.), Dallas Robinson (Georgetown, Ky.), Johnny Quinn (McKinney, Texas) and Abe Morlu (Phoenix, Ariz.) rallied back in the final heat to move ahead of Cory Butner (Yucaipa, Calif.), Chuck Berkeley (Walnut Creek, Calif.), Andreas Drbal (Belmont, Calif.) and Chris Langton (Melrose, Mass.).  Team Cunningham slid a combined time of 1:36.53 for second, and team Butner was third with a two-run total of 1:36.69. 

Codie Bascue (Whitehall, N.Y.), Justin Olsen (San Antonio, Texas), Adam Clark (Owenton, Ky.) and Sam Michener (Gresham, Ore.) were in the mix with a combined time of 1:36.89.

Racing continues tomorrow night at the Utah Olympic Park with the final men’s four-man bobsled competition from 7-9 pm MT.  The men’s national team will be named on Sunday morning.  You can watch the event live on the official USA Bobsled & Skeleton website at

Please contact Amanda Bird, USBSF Marketing & Communications Director, at or 518-354-2250 with media inquiries.


Women’s Bobsled
1. Jamie Greubel and Emily Azevedo 1:39.41 (49.62, 49.79); 2. Elana Meyers and Tracey Stewart 1:39.71 (49.75, 49.96); 3. Jazmine Fenlator and Lolo Jones 1:39.92 (49.76, 50.16); 4. Bree Schaaf and Lauryn Williams 1:39.95 (49.89, 50.06); 5. Berit Tomten and Kristi Koplin 1:42.16 (50.83, 51.33); 6. Nicole Vogt and Cherrelle Garrett 1:42.74 (51.33, 51.41); 7. Brittany Reinbolt and Maureen Ajoku 1:43.34 (51.52, 51.82);

Men’s Four-man Bobsled

1. Holcomb, Tomasevicz, Langton and Fogt 1:35.99 (47.90, 48.09); 2. Cunningham, Robinson, Quinn and Morlu 1:36.53 (48.30, 48.23); 3. Butner, Berkeley, Drbal and Langton 1:36.69 (48.26, 48.43); 4. Bascue, Olsen, Clark and Michener 1:36.89 (48.43, 48.46); 5. Peterson, Beckom, Taylor and Giurdanella 1:37.33 (48.65, 48.68); 6. Noller, White, Weber and Kongela 1:37.51 (48.67, 48.84); 7. Coughlin, Carriel, Pelger and Cremin 1:38.92 (49.47, 49.45);

About the U.S. Bobsled and Skeleton Federation
The United States Bobsled and Skeleton Federation, based in Lake Placid, N.Y., is the national governing body for the sports of bobsled and skeleton in the United States. The USBSF would like to thank its sponsors, suppliers and contributors for their support: BMW of North America, Under Armour, Kampgrounds of America, Boomerang Carnets, 24 Hour Fitness, KBC Helmets, Azad Watches, Latta USA, Susan G. Komen for the Cure, Autism Speaks, Park City Lodging, Inc., EDAS/Ripxx, UberSense, Tesa Tape and Ferris Mfg. Corp. For more information, please visit the USBSF website at