USA Bobsled & Skeleton athlete award recipients announced

Aug. 11, 2013, 7:58 p.m. (ET)

Contact: Amanda Bird, USBSF Marketing & Communications Manager
(518) 354-2250,

USA Bobsled & Skeleton athlete award recipients announced

LAKE PLACID, N.Y. (August 11, 2013)-Nine U.S. bobsled and skeleton athletes were honored for their 2012-2013 season accomplishments during a gala on Saturday evening at the Conference Center in Lake Placid, N.Y. National team bobsled and skeleton athletes were in Lake Placid for a weeklong camp, which included team building activities, volunteer opportunities and concluded with the sixth annual gala and athlete awards. 

The coaching staff selected winners for the Athlete of the Year and Rookie of the Year awards, while athletes voted for a team member in their discipline to receive the Athletes’ Choice awards.

Noelle Pikus-Pace (Orem, Utah) made a historic comeback to the sport of women’s skeleton this season to earn the Skeleton Athlete of the Year award.  After earning her position on the World Cup team with several medal performances on the North American Cup and Intercontinental Cup tours, Pikus-Pace claimed five World Cup medals, including a victory on the 2014 Olympic track near Sochi, Russia. 

Katie Eberling (Palos Hills, Ill.) was honored with the Women’s Bobsled Athlete of the Year award.  Eberling completed her second season in the sport with two World Cup medals, and claimed her second career World Championship medal with pilot Elana Meyers (Douglasville, Ga.).  

Steve Langton (Melrose, Mass.) was awarded the Men’s Bobsled Athlete of the Year award for the second time in his career.  He earned five World Cup medals this season as a push athlete for Steven Holcomb’s two-man and four-man sleds, and helped push USA-1 to a World Championship bronze medal in the four-man event.

Aja Evans (Chicago, Ill.) claimed the 2012 national push championship title to help solidify a spot on the World Cup tour in her rookie season.  She went on to shatter several start records on tracks around the world, and helped push Meyers to a silver medal performance on the 2014 Olympic track to conclude her first season.  Evans proved she is a force to be reckoned with, and was named USBSF Rookie of the Year.

John Daly (Smithtown, N.Y.) was named the Skeleton Athletes’ Choice award recipient for his ability to lead the team with humor and humility.  Team members presented both Elana Meyers (Douglasville, Ga.) and Maureen Ajoku (San Jose, Calif.) with the Women’s Bobsled Athletes’ Choice award.  Athletes submitted nomination forms that attested to Ajoku’s work ethic and her willingness to help to everyone on tour, and spoke of Meyers’ ability to lead as a role model with positivity.   The men’s bobsled team also selected two athletes to receive their Athletes’ Choice award.  Curt Tomasevicz (Shelby, Neb.) was nominated for being someone team members look up to “day in and day out,” and Adam Clark (Owenton, Ky.) was selected for his ability to be a team player who focuses on optimal performance when it counts.  One nomination form for Clark said that “success happens because of his focus and discipline for quality.”

For media inquiries, please contact Amanda Bird, USBSF Marketing & Communications Manager, at, or at (518) 354-2250. 

About the U.S. Bobsled and Skeleton Federation
The United States Bobsled and Skeleton Federation, based in Lake Placid, N.Y., is the national governing body for the sports of bobsled and skeleton in the United States. The USBSF would like to thank its sponsors, suppliers and contributors for their support: BMW of North America, Under Armour, United States National Guard, Kampgrounds of America, WIDIA, Boomerang Carnets, 24 Hour Fitness, Vivat!, Global Forwarding, KBC Helmets, Azad Watches, Latta USA, Susan G. Komen for the Cure, Autism Speaks, Park City Lodging, EDAS/Ripxx, UberSense, Tesa Tape and Ferris Mfg. Corp. For more information, please visit the USBSF website at