USA Baseball Announces Three Finalists for Golden Spikes Award

June 06, 2011, 6:02 p.m. (ET)

DURHAM, N.C. -- USA Baseball announced Monday the names of the three finalists for the 2011 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award (GSA).  This summer marks the 34th consecutive year that the GSA will be presented to the nation’s premier amateur baseball player.

Trevor Bauer, RHP, UCLA; Danny Hultzen, LHP/IF/OF, Virginia; and Taylor Jungmann, RHP, Texas, received the most votes last week from the nearly 200-person GSA voting committee.  The three players represent the first-ever class of finalists made up entirely of pitchers.

Fans can continue to stay up to date on the GSA by visiting -- powered by -- which serves as the online home for the award.  The Web site features content devoted exclusively to the GSA, including news, voting history, past winner photo galleries, and photographs and video highlights for the 2011 finalists.

For the first time ever, the GSA will be awarded live on MLB Network..  The presentation will begin at 6:00 p.m. ET on MLB Tonight, Friday, July 15.  The three finalists for the award will be at MLB Network’s studios for the presentation, which will feature interviews, video highlights and the announcement of the winner.  Online footage of the event also will be available via and

“In a year of incredible performances from players across the diamond, our voting committee felt that three pitchers stood out above the rest,” said USA Baseball Executive Director/CEO Paul Seiler.  “We congratulate Trevor Bauer, Danny Hultzen and Taylor Jungmann, along with their coaching staffs, teammates and their schools’ baseball programs.”

Trevor Bauer, Collegiate Baseball’s National Player of the Year, had a record breaking season in 2011.  The Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year set the conference single-season record for strikeouts with 203, eclipsing the previous record (202) set by 2001 GSA winner Mark Prior (Southern California).  Bauer went 13-2 for the Bruins, throwing 10 complete games (tied for first in UCLA single-season record history) over 136.2 innings pitched (seventh most in UCLA single-season records history).  Bauer is the first GSA finalist from UCLA since Troy Glaus in 1997.

Danny Hultzen became the first-ever three-time All-American for the Virginia Cavaliers in 2011.  The lefty has posted an 11-3 record on the mound with a 1.57 ERA, while striking out 148 batters.  His impressive stats helped him become UVa’s all-time career leader in wins (31) and strikeouts (378).  The two-time ACC Pitcher of the Year is seventh in ACC history in career strikeouts and has been named First-Team All-ACC three consecutive years.  Hultzen has also hit .336 for the season driving in 34 runs, including 10 doubles, two triples and a home run.  Prior to Hultzen, the Cavaliers’ last GSA finalist was Seth Greisinger in 1996.

Taylor Jungmann solidified himself as one of the most dominant pitchers in Texas and Big 12 history with his performance in 2011.  The junior was named Big 12 Pitcher of the Year and a First Team All-American by Collegiate Baseball/Louisville Slugger.  This season he is 13-1 with a 1.40 ERA, 119 strikeouts, a .168 batting average against and five complete games in 128.1 innings pitched.  Jungmann was also named to both the Big 12 All-First Team and All-Academic First Team.  The is the first Longhorn finalist since Kyle Russell in 2007.

In 2007, USA Baseball instituted a new selection and balloting procedure for the most prestigious award in amateur baseball, and it follows the same model again in 2011.  After working closely with sports information directors and amateur baseball media across the country to determine watch lists and the top-performing athletes, a list of 30 semifinalists was sent to the GSA voting committee last week.  The three players that received the most votes advanced to the finalist round, and beginning Monday at 3:30 p.m. ET, the committee will have the opportunity to vote for the winner.

Fans will once again be able to vote for the 2011 GSA by visiting and selecting their favorite finalist.  Voting for fans and the voting body ends at 5:00 p.m. ET on Friday, June 17.

About the Golden Spikes Award
Since 1978, USA Baseball has honored the top amateur baseball player in the country with the Golden Spikes Award. Following the first ever presentation of the Award to Bob Horner of Arizona State, the Golden Spikes Award has been presented each year to the player who exhibits exceptional athletic ability and exemplary sportsmanship. The 2010 Golden Spikes Award winner was Bryce Harper of Southern Nevada. Past winners of this prestigious award include current Major League Baseball players such as Stephen Strasburg (’09), Buster Posey (’08), David Price (’07), Tim Lincecum (’06), Alex Gordon (’05), Jered Weaver (’04), Rickie Weeks (’03), Pat Burrell (‘98), J.D. Drew (’97), Mark Kotsay (’95), and Jason Varitek (’94). Former Major League stars that have captured the award include Robin Ventura (’88), Jim Abbott (’87), Will Clark (’85), Dave Magadan (’83), Terry Francona (’80), Tim Wallach (’79), and Bob Horner (’78).  For more information, please visit

About USA Baseball
USA Baseball is the National Governing Body of amateur baseball in the United States and is a member of the United States Olympic Committee (USOC).  The organization selects and trains the World Baseball Classic Team and World Cup Team (and all other USA Baseball Professional Teams); the USA Baseball Collegiate National Team; the USA Baseball 18U, 16U and 14U National Teams; and the USA Baseball Women’s National Team, all of which participate in various international competitions each year.  USA Baseball also presents the Golden Spikes Award annually to the top amateur baseball player in the country.  For more information, please visit and