Technical Official Director Election

Jan. 23, 2020, 2:48 p.m. (ET)

Earlier today, an email was sent to all compliant technical officials with instructions regarding the Technical Official Director Election.

The Nominating and Governance Committee has selected four (4) individuals from those nominated to stand for election. All current USAB technical official members shall vote for the Board director via email. Each USAB technical official member has one (1) vote. The individual with the highest vote total will be elected to serve on the USA Badminton Board of Directors. 

Please find the four (4) nominees below with their qualifications. 

Cody Leach – Burbank, CA
Qualifications: BWF Accredited Umpire, National Umpire, Member of the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Awards Committee and Peer Group Executive Committee 

Jacqueline Myers – Laguna Hills, CA
Qualifications: - International Umpire, National Umpire, International Certified Line Judge, Board Member of Local Badminton Non-Profit

Beth Sopka – Boston, MA 
Qualifications: National Umpire, National Referee, International Certified Line Judge, Chair of Northeast Region TO Committee, Umpire Clinic Instructor, Tournament Director, President of Northeast Badminton Association, US Badminton Education Foundation Board Member

Kevin Yu – La Puente, CA
Qualifications: International Line Judge, National Umpire, Umpire Instructor, Tournament Organizer

Please submit your vote by responding to the email or send an email to The deadline to vote is Wednesday January 29th, 2020 at 5:00 PM PST. 

Technical official members are defined by the USAB Bylaws as individuals who register as an active court official (referees, umpires or line judges) and are compliant under USAB's SafeSport policy, with current SafeSport training and a background check.