NE Collegiate Championships Results

April 11, 2017, 1:12 p.m. (ET)

The 2017 Finals were between two colossal New York City collegiate badminton teams, Columbia University and New York University. Both teams previously placed second behind three-year champion, Drexel University, each of the last two years. The competition was tight, and all nine matches had to be played to determine the winner. The Columbia team was powered by Hung-Shi Lin (Taiwanese) and Min Yee Teh (Malaysian) while the NYU team was powered by former top junior players Christine Yang and Melvin Tok.

Worcester Polytechnic Institute beat Stevens Institute of Technology to place third in Division 1-A.  In Division 1-B, Boston University, a newcomer, was crowned champion with Cornell University 2nd.  Rutgers University outscored Stonybrook University to place 3rd.

The Yonex NE Collegiate Team Collegiate Championship started in 2014 with 16 collegiate teams in one major event.  This school year, 28 collegiate teams participated in four events: 1. The Fall Northern Conference at Boston Badminton, MA, 2. The Fall Southern Conference at the University of Maryland, 3. The Spring Division 1 Playoff at the New Jersey Badminton Club and 4. The Spring Division II Playoff at the Long Island (NY) Sports Center.  Yonex sponsored the event, which has now involved over 30 Collegiate teams over the last four year.