Q&A Iris Wang

July 26, 2016, 10:49 a.m. (ET)
Iris Wang, USA Badminton Olympic Athlete

Name: Iris Wang

Q: How long have you been playing badminton?

A: I've been playing since I was eight years old, so almost fourteen years. 

Q: How did you become interested in playing badminton?

A: I was introduced to badminton at a birthday party and fell in love with it. 

Q: What is your biggest accomplishment as a badminton athlete?

A: My biggest accomplishment is winning the bronze medal in PanAm Games. 

Q: What are you most looking forward to about Rio (on the court)?

A: I'm excited for the experience of competing in the biggest sporting event in the world, and I am looking forward to playing at my best. 

Q: What are you most looking forward to about Rio (off the court)?

A: I'm excited to meet the top athletes in different sports from around the world. 

Q: How much time do you spend practicing and training each week?

A: I practice six days a week; including weights and court time I spend approximately 30 hours practicing each week. 

Q: What is the best advice you were ever given?

A: Stay foolish and hungry. 

Q: What does your match-day "routine" usually look like?

A: I wake up, eat breakfast, and pack my bag for the match. I like to shower before I leave for the venue and arrive at the stadium one hour before my match. 

Q: What is your diet like? Do you have a go-to meal/snack before games?

A: I avoid fried and junk foods. I am currently trying to cut down on carbs and eat more vegetables and protein. 

Q: Who is your all-time favorite athlete?

A: Serena Williams

Q: What is your favorite movie?

A: White Chicks

Q: What is your favorite song?

A: I don't have an all-time favorite, but my current one is "The Show Goes On."

Q: Outside of badminton, do you have any special or unique talents?

A: I'm not sure about unique talents, but I do enjoy making people laugh, if that counts. 

Q: What is one piece of advice you could give someone just starting out in badminton?

A: Enjoy it and have fun!

Q: If you graduated college or an university, where did you graduate from and what year?

A: I finished my freshman year at UCLA in 2012, but I took three years off to focus on badminton. I am going back to UCLA as a sophomore after the Olympics. 

Q: While in college, did you play any sports (even at a club level...for example, on the school's club badminton team)?

A: I joined the badminton club during my freshman year at UCLA.