US Speedskating News Featured News Stolz scores second ...

Stolz scores second top 15 finish of Beijing 2022 in mens 1000m

Feb. 18, 2022, 2:33 p.m. (ET)

Jordan Stolz raced to his second top-15 finish of the Beijing 2022 Olympic Winter Games Friday in the men’s 1000m event.  

Stolz finished 14th overall with a time of 1:09.12. The Netherlands’ Thomas Krol won the Gold Medal with a time of 1:07.92, Canada’s Laurent Dubreuil won Silver with a time of 1:08.32 and Norway’s Haavard Holmefjord Lorentzen won the Bronze with a time of 1:08.48.  

The 17-year-old from Wisconsin’s goal from the beginning of the season was to peak at the right time to make the Olympic team.  

I felt it could have been a little bit better but I’m just happy to be here racing,” Stolz said.  

Austin Kleba finished 29th with a time of 1:10.57. Kleba previously skated to 27th place and a time of 35.40 in the men’s 500m event.  

Watching the world’s best skate up close and his teammates win medals of their own were highlights for Kleba in his first Olympic experience.  

Going forward, I want to not just make the next Olympics, but also have a name for myself and be able to be possibly in medal contention status or somewhere up there with the big boys,” Kleba said.  

Stolz, who holds both the Men’s 500m and 1000m distance Junior World Records, previously skated to 13th place in the men’s 500m event with a time of 34.85.  

US Speedskating Olympic long track action concludes Saturday with the Men’s and Women’s Mass Start event scheduled to begin at 3:00 pm Beijing time and 12:00 am MST/2:00 am EST in the United States.  

Tune in to NBC and Peacock to catch all of the US Speedskating action throughout the Olympics.  

Related Athletes

head shot

Austin Kleba

Long Track Speedskating
head shot

Jordan Stolz

Long Track Speedskating