US Speedskating News Featured News Bowe wins bronze in ...

Bowe wins bronze in 1000m for first individual Olympic medal, Team USA’s third podium of Beijing 2022

By Brennan Smith | Feb. 17, 2022, 3:04 p.m. (ET)

Brittany Bowe won her first individual Olympic medal and US Speedskating’s third medal of the Beijing 2022 Olympic Winter Games Thursday.  

Bowe skated to a Bronze Medal with a time of 1:14.61 in the Women’s 1000m event. Japan’s Miho Takagi won Gold with a new Olympic Record time of 1:13.19 and the Netherlands’ Jutta Leerdam won Silver with a time of 1:13.83.  

Bowe said she’s proud to bring a Bronze back to the United States and is looking forward to celebrating in her hometown of Ocala, Florida with fellow Beijing medalists and “Ocala kids” Erin Jackson and Joey Mantia.  

“Winning this Bronze Medal today is a victory and I cannot wait to share it with a countless number of people who have been with me all along the way,” Bowe said. 

Kimi Goetz scored a top 10 finish as well – finishing 7th with a time of 1:15.40.  

Bowe’s podium seals US Speedskating’s third long track medal performance in five days after Jackson’s Gold in the Women’s 500m and the Men’s Team Pursuit Bronze effort from Ethan Cepuran, Casey Dawson, Emery Lehman and Mantia.  

Bowe previously won a Bronze Medal in the Women’s Team Pursuit at the 2018 PyeongChang Olympic Winter Games alongside Heather Bergsma, Mia Manganello Kilburg and Carlijn Schoutens. She completed her Beijing racing schedule after a 16th place time in the Women’s 500m and a 10th place finish in the Women’s 1500m event.  

US Speedskating Olympic long track action continues Friday with the Men’s 1000m races scheduled to begin at 4:30 pm Beijing time and 1:30 am MST/3:30 am EST in the United States.  

Tune in to NBC and Peacock to catch all of the US Speedskating action throughout the Olympics. 

Related Athletes

head shot

Brittany Bowe

Long Track Speedskating
head shot

Kimi Goetz

Long Track Speedskating