US Speedskating News Featured News Team USA wins Bronze...

Team USA wins Bronze in men's team pursuit for second Beijing 2022 long track medal

Feb. 15, 2022, 1:18 p.m. (ET)

US Speedskating’s men’s skaters won the second Team USA long track medal of the Beijing 2022 Olympic Winter Games in the Team Pursuit event Tuesday.  

The Russian Olympic Committee edged Team USA in the semifinals with a lineup of Ethan Cepuran, Casey Dawson and Emery Lehman. The team subbed in Joey Mantia for Cepuran after advancing to the B Final and went on to beat the fourth place Netherlands to win the Bronze Medal in a time of 3:38.81. 

Mantia said the strategy was to start fast and try to stay composed with Dawson and Lehman powering through and pushing the pace from the semifinal to the final.  

It feels so good to put so much into the season the last couple of years focusing on this plan with our strategy, the helmets, pretty much every detail we tried to tidy up,” Mantia said. “To walk away as medalists feels really good.”   

Norway won the Gold Medal with a time of 3:38.08 in the A Final over the Silver Medalist Russian Olympic Committee with a time of 3:40.46.  

Lehman and Cepuran previously skated the 5000m event in Beijing, finishing 16th and 17th, respectively. Lehman and Dawson also skated in the 1500m event with placements of 11th and 28th place. Mantia previously skated to sixth-place finish in the 1500m event.  

US Speedskating Olympic long track action continues Thursday with the Women’s 1000m races scheduled to begin at 4:30 pm Beijing time and 1:30 am MST/3:30 am EST in the United States.  

Tune in to NBC and Peacock to catch all of the US Speedskating action throughout the Olympics.  

Related Athletes

head shot

Ethan Cepuran

Long Track Speedskating
head shot

Casey Dawson

Long Track Speedskating
head shot

Emery Lehman

Long Track Speedskating
head shot

Joey Mantia

Long Track Speedskating