Home US Speedskating News Featured News Apolo Ohno will join...

Apolo Ohno will join Olympic greats in the US Olympic and Paralympic Hall of Fame

Sept. 23, 2019, 10:27 a.m. (ET)

We are proud to announce that Apolo Ohno will be inducted into the U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Hall of Fame's Class of 2019!

As the most decorated winter Olympic athlete in history, Apolo’s eight Olympic medals from three Olympic Games has earned him a place in the Hall of Fame to ensure his legacy and honor his incredible accomplishments.

The inductees will be honored at an awards dinner Friday, Nov. 1, at the U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Training Center in Colorado Springs. The class of 2019 is comprised of nine individuals, one team, two legends, one coach and one special contributor, and together, represents 12 different sports.

The inductees include Candace Cable (Para alpine skiing, Para Nordic skiing, Para track and field), Lisa Leslie (basketball), Nastia Liukin (gymnastics), Misty May-Treanor (beach volleyball), Apolo Anton Ohno (short track speedskating), Erin Popovich (Para swimming), Dara Torres (swimming), Chris Waddell (Para alpine skiing, Para track and field), the 1998 U.S. Olympic Women’s Ice Hockey Team, John Carlos (legend: track and field), Tommie Smith (legend: track and field), Ron O’Brien (coach: diving) and Tim Nugent (special contributor). 

“The U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Hall of Fame represents the pinnacle of competitive excellence in our nation, and its inspiring members are champions who have transcended sport through the legacy they leave both on and off the field of play,” said USOPC CEO Sarah Hirshland. “It’s an honor to welcome the class of 2019 into this prestigious and celebrated honor roll. We thank them for their impact on sport and society, and for continuing to inspire the next generation of athletes and fans.”

We're thrilled that Apolo's triumphs will live on forever!