US Speedskating Awarded 2020 World Single Distance Championships

June 09, 2017, 11:31 a.m. (ET)

The International Skating Union (ISU) announced that US Speedskating (USS) has been provisionally allotted the 2020 World Single Distance (WSD) Championships, which will be held at the Utah Olympic Oval in Kearns, Utah from February 13-16, 2020. 

“We are very honored to be hosting the 2020 World Championships in Salt Lake City,” said Mike Plant, president of US Speedskating. “We are committed and dedicated to producing a fantastic championship that the ISU and the skaters will be proud of, and will appreciate and enjoy.”

"Utah is the perfect home for world-class winter sporting events," said Jeff Robbins, president and CEO of the Utah Sports Commission. "We are thrilled to partner with the UCI, US Speedskating, the Olympic Oval and many others in Utah playing host to the 2020 Long Track World Championships." 

The WSD Championships are a four-day speed skating competition where long track skaters compete to be crowned world champion in all of the Olympic distances.

“It is always exciting to have the opportunity to hold a world championships on your home turf, yet alone on our home ice,” said Ted Morris, executive director of US Speedskating. “This event will allow us to showcase our sport to the rest of the United States and the world, and once again show the country why Utah is the state of sport.” 

“With the Utah Olympic Oval offering the ‘Fastest Ice On Earth’, competitors from around the world will have the chance to set national and world records while competing with the top athletes in the sport,” said Derek Parra, 2002 Olympic Champion and director of sport for the Utah Olympic Oval.  “We look forward to this spectacular event.”

The Utah Olympic Oval is a facility that was built for the 2002 Salt Lake City Winter Games and operated by the Utah Olympic Legacy Foundation. It will mark the third time since it’s construction that US Speedskating and the Utah Olympic Oval have hosted WSD Championships, as they were also held in 2001 and 2007.