Home US Speedskating News Featured News Apolo Anton Ohno Ele...

Apolo Anton Ohno Elected into US Speedskating Hall of Fame

April 11, 2016, 11:11 a.m. (ET)

US Speedskating (USS) announced today that eight-time Olympic medalist Apolo Anton Ohno will be inducted into the US Speedskating Hall of Fame on Friday, May 13. The ceremony will take place at Snow Park Lodge Deer Valley in Park City, Utah and begins at 7 p.m. MT.

“It’s an honor to be inducted into the US Speedskating Hall of Fame,” stated Apolo Ohno. “This incredible sport has taught me so much, and to be associated with a special group of legends like this is something that I will cherish for the rest of my life. I feel proud, blessed and humbled.”

Apolo Ohno’s name is synonymous with speed skating having amassed eight Olympic medals, making him the most decorated American in Winter Olympic history. The three-time Olympian and 12-time U.S. National Champion collected more than 30 medals in international competitions over the course his speed skating career.

“Apolo is one of the great ambassadors of speed skating in the world today,” commented Mike Plant, president of US Speedskating. “He set the bar on the ice with his eight Olympic Medals but what he has done off the ice for our sport is as equally significant.”

Away from the ice, Ohno has garnered further mainstream appeal by winning ABC’s Dancing with the Stars (2007), hosting Game Show Network’s Minute to Win It, and serving as a commentator for NBC’s broadcast of the 2012 and 2014 Olympic Games. A believer in living an active and healthy lifestyle, Ohno completed the New York City Marathon in 2011 and the 2014 IRONMAN World Championship in October of 2014 in Kona, Hawaii.

In addition, the following awards will be presented during the evening induction:

Hall of Fame Induction - Apolo Anton Ohno
AAC Dedication to Sport Award - Nathan Miller
George Howie Memorial Award - Hence Bollinger
President’s Award - Robert Wyss & Steven Fisher
Coaches of the Year Awards - Matt Kooreman, Carl Cepuran, Chang Lee
Doc Councilman Sport Science Award - Jessica LaRoche

The US Speedskating Hall of Fame Induction is in conjunction with the USS Annual Congress held May 13-14. Fans interested in attending the Hall of Fame induction ceremony can purchase tickets at the Hall of Fame Event Page