US Speedskating Announces its 2015 Winter World Cup Team

Jan. 14, 2015, 5 p.m. (ET)

After an action-packed weekend at Milwaukee’s Pettit National Ice Center, US Speedskating is proud to announce its 2015 Winter World Cup Team. This team will compete at the ISU Long Track World Cups in Hamar, Norway, January 31 through February 1 and Heerenveen, Netherlands February 7-8.

“It was a terrific weekend with fast ice and fast skating” said Long Track National Allround Head Coach, Thomas Cushman. “I counted some 33 Pettit Center personal bests just by our World Cup Team members. The athletes have laid the foundation, and now we go to Europe for the main part of the competitive season ready to race!”

2014 Olympian Brittany Bowe had standout performances in the 1000m and 1500m, winning two gold medals and setting two new track records, including an unofficial sea level world record.

“The Pettit Center’s Paul Golomski is doing a world-class job with the ice conditions,” added Pearson. “We’re on some of the fastest ice in the world right now. Its fun to see so much upcoming talent, the future of speed skating, competing at the same time as the current elite athletes, and performing at such a high level heading into World Championships."

Also during the weekend, US Speedskating selected the 2015 Junior World Championship team which will compete in Warsaw, Poland February 20-22.

The US Speedskating Winter World Cup teams:


Erin Bartlett (Lakewood, OH)

Brittany Bowe (Ocala, FL)

Kelly Gunther (Lorain, OH)

Heather Richardson (High Point, NC)

Carlijn Schoutens (Salt Lake City, UT)

Sugar Todd (Milwaukee, WI)


KC Boutiette (Tacoma, WA)

Shani Davis (Chicago, IL)

Jonathan Garcia (Houston, TX)

Kimani Griffin (Winston-Salem, NC)

Joey Mantia (Ocala, FL)

Edwin Park (Seattle, WA)

Jeffrey Swider-Peltz (Chicago, IL)

Mitchell Whitmore (Waukesha, WI)

2015 World Sprint Team:


Heather Richardson

Brittany Bowe


Shani Davis

Mitchell Whitmore

2015 Junior World Team:


Jacquelyn Bernico

Clare Jeong

Darian O’Neil

Sarah Warren


Kyung Taek Lee

Emery Lehman

Brandon Molenda

Isiah Oliver

David Skoda

2015 World Single Distance Team:


Brittany Bowe

Heather Richardson

Maria Lamb

Sugar Todd (reserve)


Shani Davis

Jonathan Garcia

Joey Mantia

Jeffrey Swider-Peltz

Mitchell Whitmore (reserve)