US Speedskating News Featured News Bowe Named Finalist ...

Bowe Named Finalist for United States Sports Academy's 2015 Athlete of the Year

Dec. 08, 2015, 11:20 a.m. (ET)

A day after Joey Mantia was named Best of November for the Team USA Awards presented by Dow, another Ocala, Fla. Native, Brittany Bowe, was named a finalist for the United States Sports Academy’s 2015 Athlete of the Year award.

Bowe, 27, skated to gold medals in the 2015 World Single Distance Championships in the 1000m and 1500m events, as well as the silver in the 500m. She also won the 2015 World Sprint Championships. In addition, for her performance in the 1000m competition of the Single Distance Championships, Bowe was awarded the 2015 Oscar Mathisen Award, awarded annually for most outstanding speed skating performance of the season.

With the 2015-16 season underway, Bowe has picked up where she left off by winning 10 overall medals through the first three ISU World Cups. On Nov. 15 in Calgary, she broke the 1500m world record, a record that had stood for 10 years and at the time was the longest-standing women’s speed skating world record. A week later in Salt Lake City on Nov. 22, she then set a new world mark in the 1000m. Through the first three World Cups, she ranks first in the 1000m and 1500m, fourth in the 500m, and second overall of the Grand World Cup rankings.

The United States Sports Academy’s 31st annual Athlete of the Year ballot is now open to the public for voting and closes at midnight ET on Dec. 23, 2015. Part of the Academy’s annual Awards of Sport program, the Athlete of the Year program is the culmination of the Academy’s year-long Athlete of the Month program, which recognizes the accomplishments of men and women in sports from around the globe.

To vote, please visit: The male and female winners of this year’s awards will be announced on Dec. 24, 2015. The monthly and annual winners are voted on by the public and announced on the Academy’s website, social media, and in the monthly e-newsletter, The Sport Update.

This year’s ballot includes 12 men and 12 women from nine countries representing a wide variety of athletic accomplishment. Their performances provided some of the top highlights and newsworthy stories in sport in 2015.