Announcing the 2014-15 Long Track World Cup Team

Oct. 28, 2014, 10:13 p.m. (ET)

Salt Lake City, UT; Oct 28, 2014

After an action-packed weekend at the Utah Olympic Oval, US Speedskating is proud to announce the 2014-15 Fall World Cup Team for Long Track. This team is qualified to race in the first four ISU competitions this season in Japan, Korea, Germany and the Netherlands before the end of the year.

“The Fall World Cup Qualifier is always the first true measure of summer and fall preparation, and Team USA appears to have prepared well,” said Long Track National Sprint Team Head Coach, Matt Kooreman. “The veterans performed at an elite level, but there were also some very exciting breakout races from several up-and-comers. I’m confident that this team will represent the United States well in the upcoming World Cup competitions.”


The three-day event on The Fastest Ice on Earth saw thirteen personal bests, including one from Jeffrey Swider-Peltz, who skated a 1.47,39 in the Men’s 1500m, landing him a spot on his first World Cup team. Other strong performances included that of Shani Davis, who skated the fastest 1000m in the world this year at 1.08,03, and Brittany Bowe, whose performance in Day 3’s 1000m was a highlight of the competition. With a time of 1.12,91, Bowe nearly touched her own world record from last fall. 

“I am incredibly pleased by the times our top athletes are skating,” said National Allround Head Coach, Thomas Cushman. “We are back on track. Moreover we have a cache of younger skaters who could really come on strong in the coming years, who are already showing promise and talent.  I am excited about the future of US Speedskating.”

US Speedskating official Fall World Cup teams:


Shani Davis (Chicago, IL)

Jonathan Garcia (Houston, TX)

Kimani Griffin (Winston-Salem, NC)

Steven Hartman (Falcon Heights, MN)

Joey Mantia (Ocala, FL)

Edwin Park (Seattle, WA)

Chase Reichmann (West Allis, WI)

Jeffrey Swider-Peltz (Chicago, IL)

Mitch Whitmore (Waukesha, WI)


Erin Bartlett (Lakewood, OH)

Brittany Bowe (Ocala, FL)

Maria Lamb (River Falls, WI)

Heather Richardson (High Point, NC)

Jaclyn Rowe (Wheaton, IL)

Carlijn Schoutens (Salt Lake City, UT)

Paige Schwartzburg (Ocala, FL)

Jerica Tandiman (West Jordan, UT)

Sugar Todd (Milwaukee, WI)