US Speedskating Announces 2015 National Training Program

Aug. 22, 2014, 2 p.m. (ET)

Three-time Short Track Olympic Medalist and current World Recorder Holder JR Celski and current Long Track World Record Holder Brittany Bowe headline a talented group of 24 athletes named to US Speedskating’s National Training Programs.  The 2014-2015 Teams feature talented young athletes along with seasoned Olympians.

Olympians Alyson Dudek, Emily Scott and Kyle Carr join Celski in their return to the National Training Program. Other returning members include Sarah Chen (currently attending Dartmouth College) and Jeff Simon, whose performance last year was instrumental in helping the USA qualify as the world’s top ranked relay team going into Sochi before suffering a season ending injury at the U.S. Olympic Team Trials in early January.

“We have a very hungry team this year”, says Short Track Program Director Alex Izykowski. “With a new head coach in Jon Caver, a perfect mix of veteran and young athletes, we have a fun and motivated group. We expect great things from this group athletically this year.  We’re building a strong National Training Program as we head toward the 2018 Winter Olympic Games and beyond.” 

US Speedskating’s Long Track national team reloads for the 2014-15 season with internationally successful veteran athletes including Bowe, World Cup Gold Medalist Joey Mantia, Mitch Whitmore, Sugar Todd and Jonathan Garcia. These veteran athletes will be pushed by a talented group of young athletes eager to prove themselves on the World Cup Circuit

“US Speedskating’s National Training Program strives to be one of the greatest elite training programs in the world”, said Long Track Program Director, Nick Pearson.  “Our job is to provide our athletes and programs with the most advanced resources and support services available in sport performance.  We hope these programs continue to produce World Championship and Olympic medalists for many years to come.”

Complete 2014-2015 Roster:


Alexis Burkholder*

Adam Callister*

Kyle Carr

JR Celski

Jacqueline Chen*

Sarah Chen

Alyson Dudek

Casey Mullarkey*

Jake Powers*

Katy Ralston*

Emily Scott

Jeff Simon  

Kyle Uyehara*


Petra Acker 

Brittany Bowe

Jonathan Garcia

Kelly Gunther

Steven Hartman*

Joey Mantia

Xander Mark*

Chase Reichmann*

Kyle Ronchak*

Sugar Todd

Mitch Whitmore

*Indicates first year National Training Program member