About the AAC
The Athletes' Advisory Council (AAC) is a body within US Speedskating dedicated to representing and furthering the interests of the athletes. It facilitates communication between the athletes and the organization, ensures there is athlete representation at every level, and works closely with the Board of Directors as well as the USOPC AAC.  You can contact a member of the AAC if you have a question, issue or concern related to athlete needs.


Current USS Athlete Advisory Council:

Carlijn Schoutens (Chair, Long Track Athlete) -

Kristen Santos (Short Track Athlete) -

Thomas Hong (Short Track Athlete) -

Ian Quinn (Long Track Athlete) -

Brittany Bowe (Long Track Athlete) -

Brian Hansen (Long Track Athlete) -

The athletes on US Speedskating's Board of Directors are Carlijn Schoutens and Ryan Bedford. 
The athlete representatives on the USOPC AAC are Brian Hansen and Kristen Santos (alternate).
Who to Contact
High Performance/Regulations/Team Selection: 

Athlete Benefits: 

Member Benefits/Issues/General Inquiries: 

Athlete Development 



All Other Questions

USS Bylaws - Information on the structure and functioning of the AAC can be found in article 9
USS Workgroups - Athlete representatives on each committee and workgroup can be found here


Other resources for speed skating athletes

USOPC Athletes' Advisory Council



Ted Stevens Act

U.S. Center for SafeSport