U.S. Paralympics News U.S. Paralympics Swi...

U.S. Paralympics Swimming Announces 2020 National Team Roster

By Cady Lowery | Jan. 29, 2020, 4:29 p.m. (ET)

McKenzie Coan, Lizzi Smith, Jessica Long and Mikaela Jenkins pose with their medals at world championships in London McKenzie Coan, Lizzi Smith, Jessica Long and Mikaela Jenkins combined for 18 medals at the 2019 World Para Swimming Championships in London. 



COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Fifty-three athletes were named to the 2020 U.S. Paralympics Swimming National Team, as announced today by the United States Olympic & Paralympic Committee. The team features 33 women and 20 men, including 19 Paralympians and nine reigning world champions. 

“With this being a Paralympic Games year, this is an incredibly important time for our team,” said Queenie Nichols, director of U.S. Paralympics Swimming. “The team just concluded a national team camp which only heightened their excitement for Tokyo 2020.This will be an exciting year, and we can’t wait to get the season started.”

The national team is headlined by 13-time Paralympic champion Jessica Long (Baltimore, Maryland) and six-time Paralympic medalist Becca Meyers (Timonium, Maryland). Long seeks to make an appearance at her fifth Paralympic Games this year, while Meyers is the reigning world record holder in the 400-meter individual medley SM12. They are joined by four-time Paralympic medalist McKenzie Coan (Clarkesville, Georgia). Long, Meyers and Coan combined for 15 medals at the 2019 World Para Swimming Championships.  

The roster also includes nine current world champions. Joining Coan and Meyers as world champions are Evan Austin (Terre Haute, Indiana), Julia Gaffney (Mayflower, Arkansas), Robert Griswold (Freehold, New Jersey), Mikaela Jenkins (Evansville, Indiana), Elizabeth Marks (Prescott Valley, Arizona), Leanne Smith (Salem, Massachusetts) and Mallory Weggemann (Eagan, Minnesota), who all had dominating performances at the 2019 world championships, bringing home a total of 14 gold medals.

The 2020 national team also welcomes a few newcomers who will make their national team debut. Sarah Bofinger (Rockville, Maryland), Parker Egbert (Greenville, South Carolina), Audrey Kim (Salt Lake City, Utah), Peter Lermo (Springfield, Virginia) and Adin Williams (Happy Valley, Oregon) all join the roster for the first time. 

International competition kicks off in February, with athletes competing in Melbourne, Australia, to begin the World Para Swimming World Series circuit. Indianapolis will be one of the seven stops on the world series tour, with competition running April 16-18.


The U.S. Paralympic Team Trials will be held June 25-28 in Minneapolis, where the athletes who will represent Team USA in Tokyo will be named. The Paralympic Games Tokyo 2020 will be held Aug. 25 - Sept. 6. 


For updates throughout the season, follow U.S. Paralympics Swimming on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.


2020 U.S. Paralympics Swimming National Team

* Denotes U.S. Paralympian

^ Denotes 2019 world champion


Name Hometown Class
A Team  
*^Evan Austin Terre Haute, Ind. S7/SB6/SM7
*^McKenzie Coan Clarkesville, Ga. S7/SB6/SM7
^Julia Gaffney Mayflower, Ark. S7/SB6/SM7
*^Robert Griswold Freehold, N.J. S8/SB7/SM8
*Sophia Herzog Fairplay, Colo. S6/SB6/SM6
^Mikaela Jenkins Evansville, Ind. S10/SB9/SM10
Ahalya Lettenberger Glen Ellyn, Ill. S7/SB6/SM7
*Jessica Long Baltimore, Md. S8/SB7/SM8
*^Ellie Marks Prescott Valley, Ariz. S7/SB6/SM7
*^Becca Meyers Timonium, Md. S12/SB12/SM12
Ross Minor St. Augustine, Fla. S11/SB11/SM11
Gia Pergolini Roswell, Ga. S13/SB13/SM13
Lawrence Sapp Waldorf, Md. S14/SB14/SM14
*Lizzi Smith Muncie, Ind.  S9/SB9/SM9 
^Leanne Smith Salem, Mass. S3/SB3/SM3
Matthew Torres Ansonia, Conn. S8/SB8/SM8
*^Mallory Weggemann Eagan, Minn. S7/SB6/SM7
*Colleen Young St. Louis, Mo. S13/SB13/SM13
B Team    
*Hannah Aspden Raleigh, N.C. S9/SB8/SM9
*Cailin Currie Danvers, Mass. S13/SB13/SM13
*Alyssa Gialamas Naperville, Ill. S5/SB4/SM5
*Martha Ruether Allegany, N.Y. S13/SB13/SM13
Carson Sanocki Charlotte, N.C. S13/SB13/SM13
Summer Schmit Stillwater, Minn. S9/SB9/SM9
Zach Shattuck Mt. Airy, Md. S6/SB6/SM6
Aspen Shelton Willow Park, Texas S12/SB12/SM12
*Brad Snyder Baltimore, Md. S11/SB11/SM11
*Natalie Sims Minneapolis, Minn. S9/SB9/SM9
Samantha Tubbs King George, Va. S9/SB9/SM9
Adin Williams Happy Valley, Ore. S6/SB6/SM6
C Team    
Sarah Bofinger Rockville, Md. S10/SB9/SM10
*Leslie Cichocki Palos Hills, Ill. S14/SB14/SM14
Alyssia Crook Allendale, Mich. S9/SB8/SM9
*Tye Dutcher Merced, Calif. S10, SB9, SM10
Parker Egbert Greenwood, S.C. S14/SB14/SM14
Abigail Gase Tontogany, Ohio S7/SB6/SM7
David Gelfand Weston, Conn. S9/SB8/SM9
Connor Gioffreda Timonium, Md. S6/SB6/SM6
*McClain Hermes Dacula, Ga. S11/SB11/SM11
Jamal Hill Inglewood, Calif. S9/SB8/SM9
Audrey Kim Salt Lake City, Utah S10/SB9/SM10
Keegan Knott Lake Villa, Ill. S9/SB9/SM9
Peter Lermo Springfield, Va. S10/SB9/SM10
Elise Morley Norton, Mass. S9/SB9/SM9
Joe Murray Burlington, N.C. S9/SB8/SM9
Makayla Nietzel Crystal Lake, Ill. S13/SB13/SM13
Joey Peppersack Hopewell, Va. S8/SB7/SM8
Jonathan Pierce Torrance, Calif. S14/SB14/SM14
Cali Prochaska Fort Wayne, Ind. S9/SB8/SM9
Benjamin Ramirez Knoxville, Tenn. S9/SB9/SM9
Morgan Ray St. Augustine, Fla. S6/SB6/SM6
Liam Smith Rockford, Mich. S6/SB6/SM6
MeiMei White Orlando, Fla. S9/SB8/SM9