U.S. Paralympics Cycling Names 2020 National Team

By Cady Lowery | Jan. 09, 2020, 3:19 p.m. (ET)

Shawn Morelli points to USA on her jersey after winning the road race at the 2019 UCI Para-cycling Road World ChampionshipsShawn Morelli is among 27 athletes named to the 2020 U.S. Paralympics Cycling National Team. 

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — Today U.S. Paralympics Cycling announced the 26 cyclists named to the 2020 national team. The roster includes 15 Paralympians and five current world champions.

“This year is going to be big for us, and we have a great roster heading into the 2020 season,” said Ian Lawless, director of U.S. Paralympics Cycling. “We have great mix of Paralympians, Paralympic hopefuls and a few reigning world champions, and we’re especially excited for this season since we’re under a year from the Paralympic Games Tokyo 2020.”

Team USA enters the 2020 season with several athletes that dominated last year’s world championships and Parapan American Games, as five athletes start the season as defending world champions.

Highlighting the national team is Shawn Morelli (Saegertown, Pennsylvania), a two-time Paralympic gold medalist and current back-to-back road race world champion. Four-time Paralympic medalist Joe Berenyi (Aurora, Illinois) also returns to the national team as the reigning world champion in the 1-kilometer track time trial.

Last season, Aaron Keith (Woodinville, Washington) earned his second-ever rainbow jersey in the men’s C1 time trial at the 2019 UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships. Two-time Paralympian Alicia Dana (Putney, Vermont) also landed on the podium at world championships, earning her second-career rainbow jersey in the women’s H3 time trial. Paralympian Ryan Boyle (Monroe, Connecticut) also defended his rainbow jersey in the men’s T2 road race.

Tom Davis (Fremont, Indiana), Will Groulx (Portland, Oregon), and Brandon Lyons (Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania.) return to the national team after earning a silver medal in the team relay at the road world championships.

The 2020 team also features Paralympic hopeful Clara Brown (Falmouth, Maine), who finished her breakout 2019 season with back-to-back bronze medals in the women’s C3 road race and time trial at world championships. Brown also earned three gold medals at the 2019 Parapan American Games in individual pursuit, road time trial and road race for the women’s C3 class. 

The season kicks off at the 2020 UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships in Milton, Ontario, from Jan. 30 - Feb. 2. Various events take place throughout the year in preparation for Tokyo 2020, including a stop in Indiana at the Fort Wayne Para-Cycling Open in April. 

The U.S. Paralympic Team Trials will be held June 25-28 in Minneapolis, Minnesota, where the athletes who will represent Team USA in Tokyo will be named. The Paralympic Games will be held Aug. 25 - Sept. 6. 

2020 U.S. Paralympics Cycling National Team 

*Denotes U.S. Paralympian

^Denotes 2019 world champion



*^Joe Berenyi (Aurora, Ill.) – MC3

Jason Kimball (Charlotte, N.C.) – MC3

Jason Macom (Little Rock, Ark.) – MC4

*Chris Murphy (Alta Loma, Calif.) – MC5

Justin Widhalm (Colorado Springs, Colo.) – MC5


*Shawn Cheshire (Camillus, N.Y) – WB




*Samantha Bosco (Upland, Calif.) – C5 

Clara Brown (Falmouth, Maine) – WC3

*^Alicia Dana (Putney, Vt.) - WH3

*Oksana Masters (Louisville, Ky.) – WH5

*^Shawn Morelli (Saegertown, Pa.) - WC4

Jenna Rollman (Rancho Cucamonga, Cailf.)  – WH3

Monica Sereda (St. Petersburg, Fla.) – WT2

*Jill Walsh (Syracuse, N.Y.) – WT2

*Jamie Whitmore (Somerset, Calif.) – WC3



*^Ryan Boyle (Monroe, Conn.) - MT2

*Tom Davis (Fremont, Ind.) – MH4

*Freddie De los Santos (Hopewell Junction, N.Y.) – MH5

*Travis Gaertner (Burien, Wash.) – MH4

*Will Groulx (Portland, Ore.) – MH2

Cody Jung (San Diego, Calif.) – MC4

^Aaron Keith (Woodinville, Wash.) - MC1

Brandon Lyons (Mechanicsburg, Pa.) – MH3 

Ryan Pinney (Cave Creek, Ariz.) – MH3

Matthew Rodriguez (San Diego, Calif.) – MT2

*Oz Sanchez (San Diego, Calif.) - MH5