Shawn Morelli and Will Groulx among 13 athletes to defend time trial national titles

By Olivia Truby | June 27, 2019, 2:31 p.m. (ET)

Alicia Dana wins the WH3 time trial to open the 2019 USA Cycling Para-cycling Road National Championships in Knoxville, Tennessee.

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. - More than 100 U.S. Para-cyclists traveled to Knoxville, Tennessee, to compete in the 2019 USA Cycling Para-cycling Road National Championships. The event kicked off Thursday, with 13 athletes defending their crowns and eight additional athletes earning time trial national champion titles.

In the men’s and women’s trike field, Ryan Sykes (Grass Valley, California – MT1) and world champions Ryan Boyle (Monroe, Connecticut – MT2) and Jill Walsh (Syracuse, New York – WT2) all defended their national time trial titles from 2018. Two athletes remained as national champions in the handcycle time trial, including Barry Wilcox (West Jordan, Utah – MH1) and six-time Paralympic medalist Will Groulx (Portland, Oregon – MH2).

Eight other athletes defended their top honors: Aaron Keith (Woodinville, Washington - MC2), four-time Paralympic medalist Joe Berenyi (Aurora, Illinois - MC3), Cody Jung (Poway, California - MC4), Rebecca Piper (Longmont, Colorado - WC2), two-time Paralympic medalist Jamie Whitmore (Somerset, California - WC3), two-time Paralympic champion Shawn Morelli (Meadville, Pennsylvania – WC4), two-time Paralympic bronze medalist Samantha Bosco (Upland, California – WC5), and tandem pair Chester Triplett (Mooresville, North Carolina) and his pilot Chad Bennett (Charlotte, North Carolina).

Eight additional U.S. athletes rose to the occasion to win in the time trial. Eight-time Paralympic medalist Oksana Masters (Louisville, Kentucky - WH5), who won five medals at the Paralympic Winter Games PyeongChang 2018 in Nordic skiing, transitioned from the snow to the road, winning the women’s H5 class in her first time racing the time trial since the Paralympic Games Rio 2016.

On the men’s side, Ryan Pinney (Phoenix, Arizona - MH3), two-time wheelchair basketball Paralympic champion Travis Gaertner (Burien, Washington - MH4), Freddie de los Santos (Hopewell Junction, New York - MH5), Todd Key (Scottsdale, Arizona - MC1) and Nick Gibb (Boulder, Colorado - MC5) each earned the time trial crowns. Paralympic silver medalist Alicia Dana (Putney, Vermont - WH3) and tandem pair Stephanie Zundel (Hampton, New Jersey) and pilot Jenna Cheyenne Meyer (Austin, Texas) earned top honors on the women’s side. 

Competition continues Friday with the handcycle relay and concludes Saturday with the road race. Additional event details can be found here, while results can be found here

Follow U.S. Paralympics Cycling on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for updates throughout the event.

Oksana Masters
“It felt awesome to be back on the bike. It was a fun course for a time trial. There were some good uphills and fast downhills. The transition from Nordic skiing to cycling has been hard - they’re complete opposite motions. Nordic is a lot of pulling, and cycling is a lot of pushing, so it’s definitely a humbling experience but I love the challenge and it’s only going to make me stronger.”

Ryan Boyle
“I liked that course a lot. It was a bit scarier when I was practicing yesterday because there was a lot of debris, but Knoxville did a good job in cleaning it up. It was a fast course. I’m just glad I got my flat tire out of the way, which happened yesterday.”

Alicia Dana
“The race felt pretty good. I’m glad we started early so it wasn’t too hot. I liked the course - there was a good balance of flats and hills. I’m from Vermont and we have a lot of humidity up there, but it’s a few degrees cooler. The intense heat and humidity was a hard thing to deal with. It’s important to keep up the hydration.”

Time Trial Results

Men's T1: Ryan Sykes (Grass Valley, Calif.)

Men's T2: Ryan Boyle (Monroe, Conn.)

Women's T2: Jill Walsh (Syracuse, N.Y.)

Men's H1: Barry Wilcox (West Jordan, Utah)

Men's H2: Will Groulx ((Portland, Ore.)

Men's H3: Ryan Pinney (Phoenix, Ariz.)

Men's H4: Travis Gaertner (Burien, Wash.)

Men's H5: Freddie de los Santos (Hopewell Junction, N.Y.)

Women's H3: Alicia Dana (Putney, Vt.)

Women’s H5: Oksana Masters (Louisville, Ky.)

Men's C1: Todd Key (Scottsdale, Ariz.)

Men's C2: Aaron Keith (Woodinville, Wash.)

Men's C3: Joe Berenyi (Aurora, Ill.)

Men's C4: Cody Jung (Poway, Calif.)

Men's C5: Nick Gibb (Boulder, Colo.)

Women's C2: Rebecca Piper (Longmont, Colo.)

Women's C3: Jamie Whitmore (Somerset, Calif.)

Women's C4: Shawn Morelli (Meadville, Penn.)

Women's C5: Sam Bosco (Upland, Calif.)

Men's tandem: Chester Triplett (Mooresville, N.C.) and pilot Chad Bennett (Charlotte, N.C.)

Women's tandem: Stephanie Zundel (Hampton, N.J.) and pilot Jenna Cheyenne Meyer (Austin, Texas)