Thirteen athletes named to 2019 Parapan American Games roster for U.S. Paralympics Cycling

By Olivia Truby | July 19, 2019, 1:36 p.m. (ET)

Justin Widhalm claimed bronze in the MC4 time trial at the 2019 UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships.

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — U.S. Paralympics Cycling today announced the 13 athletes selected to represent Team USA at the Parapan American Games Lima 2019 from Aug. 23-Sept. 1 in Lima, Peru. The team, which is comprised of seven men and six women, features four Paralympians.

“The Parapan American Games is an incredible opportunity for athletes of all experience levels to compete against some of the best cyclists in our region,” said Ian Lawless, director for U.S. Paralympics Cycling. “As we train and prepare for Tokyo 2020, we will lean on our veteran athletes in Peru to help lead several newcomers, some of whom are competing at the highest levels of their careers in Lima.”

Headlining the team is four-time Paralympic medalist Joe Berenyi (Aurora, Illinois), who is the reigning track world champion in the time trial. Two-time Paralympic bronze medalist Samantha Bosco (Upland, California) looks to continue her success on the track after winning two bronze medals (WC5 individual pursuit, WC5 scratch race) at the 2019 world championships, while two-time Paralympic silver medalist Jill Walsh (Syracuse, New York) will strive for gold in the mixed T1-2 time trial. The fourth Paralympian representing Team USA in Lima, Peru, is Chris Murphy (Alta Loma, California), who won bronze in the time trial and team sprint at the 2019 track world championships.

At the Parapan American Games Toronto 2015, Team USA stood atop the overall medal standings in both road and track cycling with 19 combined total medals (seven gold, seven silver, five bronze). Returning athletes from the 2015 Parapan American Games roster include Berenyi, Murphy, Walsh and Justin Widhalm (Colorado Springs, Colorado).

Additional information on the Parapan American Games Lima 2019 can be found here.

For updates leading up to Lima 2019, follow U.S. Paralympics Cycling on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

U.S. Paralympics Cycling Roster for Parapan American Games Lima 2019
*Denotes U.S. Paralympian

*Joe Berenyi (Aurora, Ill.) – C3
Jason Kimball (Kila, Mont.) – C3
Brandon Lyons (Mechanicsburg, Pa.) – H3
Jason Macom (Little Rock, Ark.) - C4 

*Chris Murphy (Alta Loma, Calif.) – C5
Matthew Rodriguez (San Diego, Calif.) - T2
Justin Widhalm (Colorado Springs, Colo.) – C4

*Samantha Bosco (Upland, Calif.) – C5
Clara Brown (Falmouth, Maine) - C3
Josephine Fouts (Toledo, Ohio) - C5
Jennifer Sharp (Boulder, Colo.) - B pilot
*Jill Walsh (Syracuse, N.Y.) – T2
Wendy Werthaiser (Ashland, Ore.) - B stoker