2019 Para-Cycling Track Nationals Conclude With 14 Athletes Earning Titles

By U.S. Paralympics | July 08, 2019, 6:05 p.m. (ET)

Sam Bosco set an American record (13.191) in the WC1-5 200-meter time trial on Monday, July 8

A total of 14 athletes were crowned national champions at the 2019 USA Cycling Para-cycling Track National Championships, which took place from July 7-8 at the VELO Sports Center in Carson, California.


Ten athletes took home national titles during the first day of competition, with two-time Paralympic medalist Bosco (Upland, California) winning the WC5 500-meter time trial on the women's side and the duo of stoker Stephanie Zundel (Hampton, New Jersey) and pilot Sarah Fader (Boulder, Colorado) earning a national title in the WB 500m time trial for the first time in their careers.


On the men’s side, four-time Paralympic medalist Joe Berenyi (Aurora, Illinois) and Paralympian Chris Murphy (Alta Loma, California) successfully defended their MC3 and MC5 kilo time trial titles.  Mohamed Lahna (Casablanca, Morocco) and Justin Widhalm (Colorado Springs, Colorado) also maintained their national champion status for the kilo time trial, winning the WC2 and WC4 titles,  respectively.


To conclude the evening, Bosco, Murphy and Berenyi each earned a second win for the day in their respective scratch races. Berenyi defended his MC1-3 scratch race title successfully from last year's national championships, as Bosco (WC1-5) and Murphy (MC4-5) earned the scratch race national crowns in their respective classes.


The second day of racing featured pursuit races, 200m time trials (not a national championship event) and the mixed team sprint. Bosco continued her dominance, picking up a third national title in the WC5 3-kilometer individual pursuit and setting an American record in the 200m time trial. Todd Key (Scottsdale, Arizona) collected his second crown in California in the MC1 3K individual pursuit after retaining his national title in the MC1 kilo time trial on Sunday.


Stoker Wendy Werthaise (Ashland, Oregon) and pilot Jennifer Sharp (Boulder, Colorado) earned their first career national title in the WB 3K pursuit, with Zundel and Fader claiming silver.


A number of athletes defended their national titles on Monday. Jason Macom (Little Rock, Arkansas) took first place in the MC4 4K individual pursuit, as Murphy notched his third national title in the MC5 4K pursuit. The 2017 world champion trio of Kimball, Berenyi and Murphy won the team sprint title once again, defending their 2018 title.  


Sam Bosco (Upland, Calif.): WC5 500m time trial (41.132), WC1-5 scratch race, 3K individual pursuit (4:02.367)
Joe Berenyi (Aurora, Ill.): MC3 kilo time trial (1:13.363), MC1-3 scratch race, 3K individual pursuit (3:53.794), team sprint (52.057)
Todd Key (Scottsdale, Ariz.): MC1 kilo time trial (1:26.682), 3K individual pursuit (4:12.554)
Jason Kimball (Charlotte, N.C.): Team sprint (52.057)
Mohamed Lahna (Casablanca, Morocco): MC2 kilo time trial (1:19.805), individual pursuit (4:06.001)
Jason Macom (Little Rock, Ark.): MC4 4K individual pursuit (4:58.031)
Chris Murphy (Alta Loma, Calif.): MC5 kilo time trial (1:07.109), MC4-5 scratch race, 4K individual pursuit (4:52.291), team sprint (52.057)
Michael Stephens (Belgrade, Mont.)/James Lawrence (Colorado Springs, Colo.): MB kilo time trial (1:06.796), 4K pursuit (5:01.456)
Wendy Werthaise (Ashland, Ore.)/Jennifer Sharp (Boulder, Colo.): WB 3K pursuit (3:53.174)
Justin Widhalm (Colorado Springs, Colo.): MC4 kilo time trial (1:10.360)
Stephanie Zundel (Hampton, N.J.)/Sarah Fader (Boulder, Colo.): WB 500m time trial (1:16.083)



Mohamed Lahna
“I’m really happy with my kilo time trial performance, especially to break the 1:20 barrier. I also had my best pursuit time ever, and narrowly missed my goal on the opening lap of the team sprint, so overall I’m very happy and feel positively towards the whole event.”

Joe Berenyi
“It’s always an honor to earn the stars and stripes jersey. I’m really happy to be bringing home three of them. I think I’m approaching a total of 30 jerseys, but they all feel as good as the first jersey I ever won. I’m confident about making the U.S. team for the Parapan American Games, which will hopefully be my next event.”

Jason Macom
“I’m very pleased to be able to repeat as national champion in the pursuit, and it’s an honor to wear the USA national champion jersey. I’m hoping for a spot on the Parapan American team roster and my performances throughout 2019 will hopefully put me on the radar as a contender for the pursuit in Lima, Peru.”



Full results from the 2019 USA Cycling Para-cycling Track National Championships can be found here. Follow U.S. Paralympics Cycling on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook for updates from the event.