U.S. Paralympics Track & Field Unveils 2019 National Team

By Brianna Tammaro | Jan. 24, 2019, 10:52 a.m. (ET)

Roderick Townsend celebrates with the U.S. flag draped behind him after winning the men's long jump T47 at the Paralympic Games Rio 2016. 45 athletes, including Roderick Townsend from Stockton, Calif., were selected to the 2019 U.S. Paralympics Track & Field National Team roster.

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Today 45 athletes (33 men, 12 women) were named to the 2019 U.S. Paralympics Track & Field National Team by U.S. Paralympics, a division of the U.S. Olympic Committee.

The roster, which includes four guides, boasts a bevy of experienced athletes with 34 Paralympians spanning from the Paralympic Games Atlanta 1996 to Rio 2016. Twenty-eight of those athletes won Paralympic medals including 14 gold medalists such as Tatyana McFadden (Clarksville, Maryland), Roderick Townsend (Stockton, California), David Brown (St. Louis, Missouri) and guide Jerome Avery (Lemoore, California), and Deja Young (Mesquite, Texas).

“This year’s national team showcases our program’s great talent and versatility,” said Cathrine Erickson, high performance director for U.S. Paralympics Track & Field. “From first-time national team members to reigning Paralympic champions, I’m extremely excited by this group as we head into a very important championships year and Tokyo in 2020.”

New to the national team this year are: Connor Faint (Winchester, Virginia), Jessica Heims (Swisher, Iowa), Stirley Jones (San Clemente, California), Jared Lane (Piscataway, New Jersey), Noah Malone (Fishers, Indiana), Justin Phongsavanh (Des Moines, Iowa), and Luis Puertas (Orlando, Florida). Rising from the collegiate ranks, Faint (Eastern Mennonite University) and Lane (Northeastern University) join the U.S. team as new guide runners.

Representing the stars and stripes are U.S. Army veterans Scot Severn (Caro, Michigan) and Luis Puertas (Orlando, Florida) who were both injured while serving. Severn is a three-time Paralympian while Puertas is making his debut on the national team.

Team USA athletes will also have the chance to compete internationally at three major championships in 2019 beginning with the World Para Athletics Junior Championships in Nottwil, Switzerland from Aug. 1-4, followed by the Parapan American Games in Lima, Peru from Aug. 23-Sep. 1. Just a few months later, the team will compete at the World Para Athletics Championships in Dubai from Nov. 7-15 where 17 reigning world champions, including Jarryd Wallace (Athens, Georgia), Sam Grewe (Middlebury, Indiana), and Isaac Jean-Paul (Grayslake, Illinois), will seek to defend their titles.

2019 U.S. Paralympics Track & Field National Team
*Denotes U.S. Paralympian

Name Hometown Classification
*Jerome Avery Lemoore, Calif. Guide
*David Blair Eagle Mountain, Utah F44
*Michael Brannigan Northport, N.Y. T20
*David Brown St. Louis, Mo. T11
*Richard Browne Jackson, Miss. T64
*Jeremy Campbell Perryton, Texas F64
Josh Cinnamo San Diego, Calif. F46
*AJ Digby Tontogany, Ohio T62
Connor Faint Winchester, Va. Guide
*Tobi Fawehinmi Arlington, Texas T47
*Joshua George Herndon, Va. T53
*Lex Gillette Raleigh, N.C. T11
*Sam Grewe Middlebury, Ind. T42
*Gianfranco Iannotta Garfield, N.J. T52
*Desmond Jackson Durham, N.C. T63
Isaac Jean-Paul Grayslake, Ill. T13
Stirley Jones San Clemente, Calif. T12
Hagan Landry Delcambre, La. F41
Jared Lane Piscataway, N.J. Guide
Noah Malone Fishers, Ind. T12
*Raymond Martin Jersey City, N.J. T52
*Trenten Merrill San Juan Capistrano, Calif. T64/F64
Justin Phongsavanh Des Moines, Iowa F54
Luis Puertas Orlando, Fla. T61
Isaiah Rigo Cheney, Wash. T52
*Nick Rogers Bingham, Maine T62
*Daniel Romanchuk Mount Airy, Md. T54
*Scot Severn Caro, Mich. F53
*Roderick Townsend Stockton, Calif. T46
*Jarryd Wallace Athens, Ga. T64
*Wesley Williams Visalia, Calif. Guide
*Hunter Woodhall Syracuse, Utah T62
*Regas Woods Dunnellon, Fla. T61
*Femita Ayanbeku Boston, Mass. T64
*Scout Bassett Harbor Springs, Mich. T63
*Breanna Clark Los Angeles, Calif. T20
*Jessica Heims Swisher, Iowa F64
*Lacey Henderson Denver, Colo. T63
*Cheri Madsen Union, Neb. T54
*Tatyana McFadden Clarksville, Md. T54
*Amanda McGrory Kennett Square, Pa. T53
*Kerri Morgan St. Louis, Mo. T52
Jaleen Roberts Kent, Wash. T37
*Susannah Scaroni Tekoa, Wash. T54
*Deja Young Mesquite, Texas T46