U.S. Paralympics Swimming Names 2019 National Team

By Olivia Truby | Jan. 16, 2019, 10:52 a.m. (ET)

Leanne Smith earns a spot on the National Elite A Team alongside five fellow Team USA athletes.

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – U.S. Paralympics, a division of the United States Olympic Committee, today announced the 47 athletes selected to the 2019 U.S. Paralympics Swimming National Team. The team, which features 34 women and 13 men, boasts 20 Paralympians who have won 50 Paralympic medals for Team USA.

“With the Paralympic Games Tokyo 2020 right around the corner, this will be a very important season for Team USA,” said Queenie Nichols, director of U.S. Paralympics Swimming. “The 47 athletes named to the national team have all worked very hard to make it this far, but there is plenty of work to be done as we gear up for Tokyo.”

The national team is headlined by 13-time Paralympic champion Jessica Long (Baltimore, Maryland). Long is the reigning world champion in eight events, including six individual events and two relays. Long is joined by six-time Paralympic medalist Becca Meyers (Timonium, Maryland) and four-time Paralympic medalist McKenzie Coan (Clarkesville, Georgia). Meyers and Coan combined for four titles at the most recent World Para Swimming Championships in 2017.

Paralympic bronze medalist Robert Griswold (Freehold, New Jersey), who is the current world champion in the 100-meter backstroke, makes the National Elite A Team. Rounding out the National Elite A Team is Julia Gaffney (Mayflower, Arkansas) and Leanne Smith (Salem, Massachusetts).

International competition kicks off in February, with athletes competing in Melbourne, Australia, to begin the World Para Swimming World Series circuit. Indianapolis will be one of the seven stops on the world series tour, with competition being held April 4-6.

For updates throughout the season, follow U.S. Paralympics Swimming on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

Roster for 2019 national team
Name (Hometown) – Classification
*Denotes U.S. Paralympian

National Team Hometown Classification
Elite A Team    
*McKenzie Coan Clarkesville, Ga. S7/SB6/SM7
Julia Gaffney Mayflower, Ark. S7/SB6/SM7
*Robert Griswold Freehold, N.J. S8/SB7/SM8
*Jessica Long Baltimore, Md. S8/SB7/SM8
*Becca Meyers Timonium, Md. S12/SB12/SM12
Leanne Smith Salem, Mass. S3/SB3/SM3
A Team    
*Evan Austin Terre Haute, Ind. S7/SB6/SM7
Ahalya Lettenberger Glen Ellyn, Ill. S7/SB6/SM7
Makayla Nietzel Crystal Lake, Ill. S13/SB13/SM13
Gia Pergolini Roswell, Ga. S13/SB13/SM13
*Martha Ruether Allegany, N.Y. S13/SB13/SM13
*Colleen Young St. Louis, Mo. S13/SB13/SM13
B Team    
*Hannah Aspden Raleigh, N.C. S9/SB8/SM9
*Cailin Currie Danvers, Mass. S13/SB13/SM13
*Tharon Drake Hobbs, N.M. S11/SB11/SM11
*McClain Hermes Dacula, Ga. S11/SB11/SM11
*Sophia Herzog Fairplay, Colo. S6/SB6/SM6
Mikaela Jenkins Evansville, Ind. S10/SB9/SM10
*Michelle Konkoly Eagleville, Pa. S10/SB9/SM10
Lawrence Sapp Waldorf, Md.


 *Lizzi Smith Muncie, Ind.  S9/SB9/SM9 
C Team    
Hallie Anderson O'Fallon, Mo. S10/SB9/SM10
Isabella Blanchard Ramsey, Minn. S9/SB9/SM9
*Leslie Cichocki Palos Hills, Ill. S14/SB14/SM14
Alyssia Crook Allendale, Mich. S9/SB8/SM9
David Gelfand Weston, Conn. S9/SB8/SM9
*Alyssa Gialamas Naperville, Ill. S5/SB4/SM5
Connor Gioffreda Timonium, Md. S6/SB6/SM6
Jamal Hill Inglewood, Calif. S9/SB8/SM9
*Elizabeth Marks Prescott Valley, Ariz. S8/SB7/SM8
*Letticia Martinez Las Cruces, N.M. S11/SB11/SM11
Ross Minor St. Augustine, Fla. S11/SB11/SM11
Elise Morley Norton, Mass. S9/SB9/SM9
Anastasia Pagonis Garden City, N.J. S12/SB12/SM12
Amanda Palyo Castle Pines, Colo. S9/SB9/SM9
Joseph Peppersack Hopewell, Va. S8/SB7/SM8
Jonathan Pierce Torrance, Calif. S14/SB14/SM14
Morgan Ray St. Augustine, Fla. S6/SB6/SM6
Carson Sanocki Charlotte, N.C. S13/SB13/SM13
Summer Schmit Stillwater, Minn. S9/SB9/SM9
Zachary Shattuck Mt. Airy, Md. S6/SB6/SM6
Aspen Shelton Willow Park, Texas S12/SB12/SM12
*Natalie Sims Minneapolis, Minn. S9/SB9/SM9
Liam Smith Rockford, Mich. S6/SB6/SM6
Morgan Stickney Bedford, N.H. S10/SB9/SM10
Samantha Tubbs King George, Va. S9/SB9/SM9
*Mallory Weggemann Eagan, Minn. S8/SB7/SM8
MeiMei White Orlando, Fla. S9/SB8/SM9