U.S. Roster For 2020 UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships Unveiled

By Olivia Truby | Dec. 11, 2019, 12:53 p.m. (ET)

Clara Brown races to a gold medal at the 2019 Parapan Games in Lima, Peru.Clara Brown races to one of three gold medals at the 2019 Parapan Games in Lima, Peru. 


Colorado Springs, Colo. - U.S. Paralympics Cycling today announced the 15 athletes, including two tandem pilots, who will represent Team USA at the 2020 UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships, Jan. 30-Feb. 2, in Milton, Ontario. U.S. athletes will look to defend seven medals from the 2019 edition of the track world championships. 

In 2019, Joe Berenyi (Aurora, Illinois) claimed the world title in the men’s C3 time trial and raced to silver in the men’s C3 scratch race. He additionally took home bronze in the team sprint alongside teammates Chris Murphy (Alta Loma, California) and Jason Kimball (Kila, Montana). Murphy will aim to secure another podium finish in the men’s C5 time trial, while Justin Widhalm (Colorado Springs, Colorado) will compete to defend his bronze in the men’s C4 time trial. Samantha Bosco (Upland, California) earned two medals at the 2019 track world championships, including bronze medals in the women’s C5 individual pursuit and scratch race.

Following a breakout year in 2019, Clara Brown (Falmouth, Maine) prepares to continue her winning ways in 2020. At the 2019 Parapan American Games, Brown won three golds and one bronze. On the track in Lima, she captured gold in the women’s individual pursuit and bronze in the 500-meter time trial, while adding gold in the road time trial and road race for the women’s C3 class. She continued her success at the 2019 road world championships just a few weeks later, earning two bronze medals. 

Aaron Keith (Woodinville, Washington) will look to transfer his success on the road to the track after he recently struck gold at the 2019 road world championships, winning his first world title in five years in the men’s C1 time trial. 

The U.S. roster features two tandem pairs who will make their world championship debut. Michael Stephens (Belgrade, Montana) will team up with pilot Joe Christiansen (Colorado Springs, Colorado), while Stephanie Zundel (Hampton, New Jersey) will join forces with pilot Paige Gray (Pueblo West, Colorado).

The 2020 UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships will be a key event for Team USA to earn quota spots for the Paralympic Games Tokyo 2020.

U.S. Roster for 2020 UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships

*Denotes U.S. Paralympian


*Joe Berenyi (Aurora, Ill.) – C3

Aaron Keith (Woodinville, Wash.) – C1

Jason Kimball (Kila, Mont.) – C3 

Jason Macom (Little Rock, Ark.) – C4

Noah Middlestaedt (St. Cloud, Minn.) - C3

*Chris Murphy (Alta Loma, Calif.) – C5

Michael Stephens (Belgrade, Mont.) - B stoker; Joe Christiansen (Colorado Springs, Colo.) - B pilot

Justin Widhalm (Colorado Springs, Colo.) – C4


*Samantha Bosco (Upland, Calif.) – C5

Clara Brown (Falmouth, Maine) – C3

*Shawn Morelli (Saegertown, Pa.) – C4

*Jamie Whitmore (Somerset, Calif.) – C3

Stephanie Zundel (Hampton, N.J.) - B stoker; Paige Gray (Pueblo West, Colo.) - B pilot