Team USA’s Can’t-Miss Paralympic Event For Sunday, March 11

By Karen Price | March 10, 2018, 12:38 p.m. (ET)

Oksana Masters competes in the women's 6KM sitting biathlon event at the Paralympic Winter Games PyeongChang 2018 on March 10, 2018 in PyeongChang, South Korea. 

 

Day 1of competition at the Paralympic Winter Games PyeongChang 2018 had no shortage of joy — and medals — for Team USA.

In biathlon sprint, U.S. athletes swept the gold medals in the sitting class as retired Navy SEAL Dan Cnossen and Kendall Gretsch, competing in her first Paralympic race ever, both won gold medals. They are the first U.S. athletes — Olympic or Paralympic — to win gold in biathlon. 

Four-time Paralympian Oksana Masters won a silver medal behind Gretsch as Nordic athletes accounted for three of the five medals, and two of three golds, Team USA won on Saturday.

The third gold medal went to alpine skier Andrew Kurka. He injured his back in his first training run in Sochi in 2014 and was unable to compete. He worked hard for another shot at the Paralympics and finally earned the medal for which he’d waited so long, taking gold in the downhill sittng event.

Laurie Stephens, a four-time Paralympian and the most decorated on the 2018 team with six medals entering the Games, won bronze in women’s sitting downhill.

Want to learn to curl like the pros? Looking for breaking news, videos, Olympic and Paralympic team bios all at your fingertips? Download the Team USA app today.

 

How To Watch

March 10-11
Time (ET) Event TV / Stream
1:00 PM NBC: Day 1 Paralympic Coverage  NBC 
7:30 PM Olympic Channel: Alpine Men's & Women's Super-G Olympic Channel
7:30 PM Alpine Men's and Women's Super-G Stream via NBC Olympics
7:35 PM Wheelchair Curling: USA vs. Germany Stream via NBC Olympics
8:00 PM Cross-Country: Men's 15km, Women's 12km (sitting) Stream via NBC Olympics
10:00 PM NBCSN: Sled Hockey, Cross-Country, Curling, Alpine NBCSN
10:00 PM Sled Hockey: USA vs. Japan NBCSN
6:35 AM Wheelchair Curling: USA vs. Sweden Stream via NBC Olympics

 

Team USA’s Can’t-Miss Event

Nordic Skiing — Men’s 15K and Women’s 12K Cross-Country Sitting (10 a.m. Korea/8 p.m. ET Saturday)

Oksana Masters renews her quest for gold in the women’s 12-kilometer, an event in which she won the silver medal in 2014. She is the reigning world champion at the distance, having swept the sprint, middle-distance and long-distance races in 2017. Her competition will include teammate Kendall Gretsch, who is also going for her second medal in as many days and her first in cross-country.

Dan Cnossen, competing in his second Paralympics, will be back in action for the men, looking for medal number two. He was 13th in the 15-kilometer in Sochi. He will be joined by teammates Andy Soule, a biathlon bronze medalist in 2010, and Sean Halsted, both competing in their third Paralympics. 


What Else Is On?

• Alpine Skiing — Men’s and Women’s Super-G (9:30 a.m. Korea/7:30 p.m. ET Saturday)

Now 22, standing skier Stephanie Jallen looks to return to the Paralympic podium after winning bronze in the super-G in Sochi.

• Curling — USA vs. Germany (9:35 a.m. Korea/7:35 p.m. ET Saturday), USA vs. Sweden (7:35 p.m. Korea/5:35 a.m. ET)

Team USA seeks to rebound after a tournament-opening loss to Korea. .

• Sled Hockey — USA vs. Japan (12 p.m. Korea/10 p.m. ET Saturday)

The U.S. opens its quest for a third straight gold medal.

Karen Price is a reporter from Pittsburgh who has covered Olympic sports for various publications. She is a freelance contributor to TeamUSA.org on behalf of Red Line Editorial, Inc.