2018 U.S. Paralympics Cycling National Team Announced

By Olivia Truby | Jan. 25, 2018, 3:26 p.m. (ET)

Chris Murphy celebrates his gold medal in the C5 1km time trial at the 2017 UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships in Carson, California.

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colorado — U.S. Paralympics, a division of the United States Olympic Committee, named 27 athletes, including two tandem pilots, to the 2018 U.S. Paralympics Cycling National Team. The U.S. roster boasts 17 Paralympians and eight reigning world champions returning to the team.

“We’re incredibly excited about the highly-decorated team that we have this year,” said Ian Lawless, director of U.S. Paralympics Cycling. “With Paralympic and world champions helping lead Team USA this upcoming season, we expect to have very successful world championships and a world cup circuit as we begin to gear up for Tokyo 2020.”

Two-time Paralympic gold medalist Shawn Morelli (Saegertown, Pennsylvania) highlights the national team after winning two road world titles (C4 time trial, road race) and two track world titles (C4 500-meter time trial, 4-kilometer individual pursuit) last season. Morelli is joined by four-time Paralympic medalist Joe Berenyi (Aurora, Illinois), who captured a trio of gold medals at the 2017 UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships (C3 1km time trial, team sprint, C1-3 scratch race).

Paralympian Chris Murphy (Alta Loma, California) and two-time Paralympic medalist Jamie Whitmore (Somerset, California) return to the national team after each winning two golds at last year’s track world championships. Murphy captured gold in the C5 1km time trial and the team sprint, while Whitmore raced to gold in the C3 500m time trial and C1-3 scratch race.

Four other reigning world champions headline the team, including five-time Paralympic medalist Jennifer Schuble (Homewood, Alabama), eight-time Paralympic medalist Allison Jones (Colorado Springs, Colorado), two-time Paralympic medalist Samantha Bosco (Upland, California) and Jason Kimball (Charlotte, North Carolina), who was part of Team USA’s team sprint world title.

In addition to the decorated athletes, the national team features several up-and-coming athletes, including David Berling (Avondale, Arizona) and Jason Macom (Little Rock, Arkansas), who competed at the 2017 road and track world championships, respectively.

Team USA finished atop the medal standings with 18 medals (10 golds, 4 silvers, 4 bronzes) at the 2017 track world championships, including the historic team sprint world title. The program continued its season by capturing 11 medals overall (3 golds, 6 silvers and 2 bronzes) at the 2017 UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships.

U.S. athletes will kick off the 2018 international competition season with track world championships in Rio de Janeiro. The team will compete in world cup races in Ostend, Belgium, and Emmen, Netherlands, followed by the road world championships in Maniago, Italy. Team USA will close out international competition with the final world cup stop in Baie Comeau, Quebec.

2018 U.S. Paralympics Cycling National Team
*Denotes U.S. Paralympian

*Samantha Bosco (Upland, Calif.) –C5
*Shawn Cheshire (Camillus, N.Y.) –B Stoker
Tela Crane (Sammamish, Wash.) –B Pilot
*Alicia Dana (Putney, Vt.) –H3
*Allison Jones (Colorado Springs, Colo.) –C2
*Shawn Morelli (Saegertown, Pa.) –C4
*Jennifer Schuble (Homewood, Ala.) –C5
Monica Sereda (St. Petersburg, Fla.) –T2
*Jill Walsh (Syracuse, N.Y.) –T2
*Jamie Whitmore (Somerset, Calif.) –C3

*Joe Berenyi (Aurora, Ill.) –C3
David Berling (Avondale, Ariz.) –H5
*Ryan Boyle (Monroe, Conn.) –T2
*Tom Davis (Fremont, Ind.) –H4
*Will Groulx (Portland, Ore.) –H2
Aaron Keith (Woodinville, Wash.) –C2
Todd Key (Scottsdale, Ariz.) –C1
Jason Kimball (Charlotte, N.C.) –C3
*Billy Lister (Cold Spring Harbor, N.Y.) –C1
Jason Macom (Little Rock, Ark.) –C4
*Chris Murphy (Alta Loma, Calif.) –C5
*Steven Peace (Albion, Mich.) –T2
Stephen Pedone (Tucson, Ariz.) –B Pilot
*Oz Sanchez (San Diego, Calif.) –H5
*Freddie de los Santos (Hopewell Junction, N.Y.) –H5
Chester Triplett (Mooresville, N.C.) –B Stoker
Justin Widhalm (Colorado Springs, Colo.) –C4