U.S. Paralympics News U.S. Team Named for ...

U.S. Team Named for 2018 UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships

By Olivia Truby | Feb. 12, 2018, 4:19 p.m. (ET)

Jennifer Schuble won gold in the C5 500-meter time trial at the 2017 track world championships in Carson, California.

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colorado – U.S. Paralympics, a division of the United States Olympic Committee, announced today the 18 athletes, including two tandem pilots, who will represent Team USA at the 2018 UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships, March 22-25, in Rio de Janeiro.

“We’re very excited to return back to Rio de Janeiro, the site of the 2016 Paralympic Games, with these 18 athletes,” said Ian Lawless, director of U.S. Paralympics Cycling. “Our athletes have worked incredibly hard over the winter months, and we’re excited to have them showcase their talents alongside great international competition."

Seven U.S. athletes will aim to defend their world titles on the track in Rio. Four-time Paralympic medalist Joe Berenyi (Aurora, Illinois) claimed gold medals at the 2017 track world championships in Carson, California, in the C3 1-kilometer time trial, team sprint and C1-3 scratch race. Three additional athletes who secured world titles in 2017 will look to repeat their titles: Paralympian Chris Murphy (Alta Loma, California) in the C5 1km time trial and team sprint, two-time Paralympic gold medalist Shawn Morelli (Saegertown, Pennsylvania) in the C4 500-meter time trial and 4km individual pursuit, and two-time Paralympic medalist Jamie Whitmore (Somerset, California) in the C3 500m time trial and C1-3 scratch race. Rounding out the returning track world champions include two-time Paralympic medalist Samantha Bosco (Upland, California) in the C5 4km individual pursuit, Jason Kimball (Charlotte, North Carolina) in the team sprint and five-time Paralympic medalist Jennifer Schuble (Homewood, Alabama) in the C5 500m time trial.

Four additional medalists return to the international stage, including Todd Key (Scottsdale, Arizona), Billy Lister (Cold Spring Harbor, New York) and tandem pair Chester Triplett (Mooresville, North Carolina) and pilot Stephen Pedone (Tucson, Arizona).

Four defending national champions are featured on the 2018 track world championships roster, including James Crouse (Groveland, California), Sean Culp (Los Angeles, California), Jacob Waters (Ragley, Louisiana) and Justin Widhalm (Colorado Springs, Colorado).

Rounding out the U.S. team includes Paralympian Shawn Cheshire (Camillus, New York) and pilot Tela Crane (Sammamish, Washington), and Nick Gibb (Boulder, Colorado).

At the 2017 track world championships, Team USA finished atop the medal standings with 18 medals (10 gold, 4 silver, 4 bronze).

U.S. Roster for 2018 UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships
*Denotes U.S. Paralympian

*Samantha Bosco (Upland, Calif.) –C5
*Shawn Cheshire (Camillus, N.Y.) –B Stoker
Tela Crane (Sammamish, Wash.) –B Pilot
*Shawn Morelli (Saegertown, Pa.) –C4
*Jennifer Schuble (Homewood, Ala.) –C5
*Jamie Whitmore (Somerset, Calif.) –C3

*Joe Berenyi (Aurora, Ill.) –C3
James Crouse (Groveland, Calif.) – C4
Sean Culp (Los Angeles, Calif.) – C2
Nick Gibb (Boulder, Colo.) – C5
Todd Key (Scottsdale, Ariz.) –C1
Jason Kimball (Charlotte, N.C.) –C3
*Billy Lister (Cold Spring Harbor, N.Y.) –C1
*Chris Murphy (Alta Loma, Calif.) –C5
Stephen Pedone (Tucson, Ariz.) –B Pilot
Chester Triplett (Mooresville, N.C.) –B Stoker
Jacob Waters (Ragley, La.) – C4
Justin Widhalm (Colorado Springs, Colo.) –C4

Related Athletes

head shot

Samantha Bosco

head shot

Shawn Cheshire

head shot

Shawn Morelli

head shot

Jennifer Schuble

head shot

Jamie Whitmore

head shot

Joe Berenyi

head shot

Todd Key

head shot

Jason Kimball

head shot

Billy Lister

head shot

Chris Murphy