2019 U.S. Paralympics Cycling National Team Announced

By Olivia Truby | Dec. 19, 2018, 2:58 p.m. (ET)

Will Groulx returns to the national team after claiming three medals, including two golds, at the 2018 UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships in Maniago, Italy.

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — U.S. Paralympics, a division of the United States Olympic Committee, today named 24 athletes to the 2019 U.S. Paralympics Cycling National Team. The U.S. roster features 14 Paralympians and seven reigning world champions.

“The 24 athletes named today range from first-time national team members to reigning Paralympic champions, and we couldn’t be more excited as we look ahead to 2019,” said Ian Lawless, director of U.S. Paralympics Cycling. “We look forward to what will be an important and telling season as we sit just over a year and a half until the Paralympic Games Tokyo 2020.”

Headlining the team after securing three world titles in 2018 is two-time Paralympic gold medalist Shawn Morelli (Saegertown, Pennsylvania), while four-time Paralympic medalist Joe Berenyi (Aurora, Illinois) returns to the national team as the reigning world champion in the 1-kilometer time trial on the track.

At the 2018 UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships, two-time Paralympic champion Will Groulx (Portland, Oregon) and two-time Paralympic champion Oz Sanchez (San Diego, California) secured gold in the team relay alongside David Randall (Ontario, Ohio). Groulx and Sanchez each won an additional world title, with Groulx winning the road race and Sanchez claiming the time trial gold in their respective classes.

Following a dominate world championships showing on the trikes, Paralympic silver medalist Ryan Boyle (Monroe, Connecticut) and two-time Paralympic silver medalist Jill Walsh (Syracuse, New York) return to the national team after each winning double gold in the road race and time trial at world championships.

Three other Paralympians are featured on the National A Team, including two-time Paralympic medalist Samantha Bosco (Upland, California), Paralympic silver medalist Alicia Dana (Putney, Vermont) and two-time Paralympic medalist Jamie Whitmore (Somerset, California).

The full roster, which is effective Jan. 1, 2019, can be found below. The 2019 season kicks off with the U.S. Paralympics Track Cycling Open in Carson, California, from Feb. 2-3.

2019 U.S. Paralympics Cycling National Team 
*Denotes U.S. Paralympian

National A Team
*Joe Berenyi (Aurora, Ill.) – C3
*Samantha Bosco (Upland, Calif.) – C5
*Ryan Boyle (Monroe, Conn.) – T2
*Alicia Dana (Putney, Vt.) – H3
*Will Groulx (Portland, Ore.) – H2
*Shawn Morelli (Saegertown, Pa.) – C4
*Oz Sanchez (San Diego, Calif.) – H5
*Jill Walsh (Syracuse, N.Y.) – T2
*Jamie Whitmore (Somerset, Calif.) – C3

National B Team
*Tom Davis (Fremont, Ind.) – H4
Jason Kimball (Charlotte, N.C.) – C3
*Billy Lister (Cold Spring Harbor, N.Y.) – C1
David Randall (Ontario, Ohio) – MH3
Jacob Waters (Ragley, La.) – C4
Justin Widhalm (Colorado Springs, Colo.) – C4

National C Team
David Berling (Avondale, Ariz.) – H5
Cody Jung (San Diego, Calif.) – C4
Todd Key (Scottsdale, Ariz.) – C1
Brandon Lyons (Mechanicsburg, Pa.) – H3
*Chris Murphy (Alta Loma, Calif.) – C5
Ryan Pinney (Phoenix, Ariz.) – H3
*Freddie de los Santos (Hopewell Junction, N.Y.) – H5
*Jennifer Schuble (Homewood, Ala.) – C5
Monica Sereda (St. Petersburg, Fla.) – T2