U.S. Paralympics News Defending Their Titl...

Defending Their Titles: Take a Look at Some of the Returning Para-cycling National Champions

Dec. 07, 2018, 1:52 p.m. (ET)

The 2018 U.S. Paralympics Track Cycling National Championships will take place Dec. 8 and 9 in Colorado Springs, Colorado. The event is open and free to the public and will be held at the Olympic Training Center velodrome. More than 40 athletes will compete during the two days, ranging from emerging athletes to Paralympic champions. Get to know which returning national champions will be looking to defend their titles this weekend:

Joe Berenyi (Aurora, Illinois)
Joe Berenyi in competition 
2017 national titles: men’s C3 kilo time trial, men’s individual pursuit and team sprint
Two-time Paralympian and four-time Paralympic medalist Joe Berenyi has defended his title in the C3 kilo time trial three times in a row, and will look to make it four this weekend. Berenyi is the reigning track world champion in the time trial.  


Shawn Cheshire (Camillus, New York) /Tela Crane (Sammamish, Washington)
Shawn Cheshire and Tela Crane on the podium

2017 national titles: women’s B kilo time trial, individual pursuit

Sean Culp (Los Angeles, California)
Sean Culp in competition

2017 national title: men’s C2 individual pursuit


Todd Key (Scottsdale, Arizona)
Todd Key in competition

2017 national title: men’s C1 kilo time trial


Jason Kimball (Charlotte, North Carolina)
Jason Kimball in competition

2017 national title: men’s team sprint


Billy Lister (Cold Spring Harbor, New York)
Billy Lister in competition

2017 national title: men’s C1 individual pursuit


Shawn Morelli (Saegertown, Pennsylvania)
Shawn Morelli in competition

2017 national titles: C4 women's 500-meter time trial, individual pursuit
Morelli will be looking for her fourth consecutive individual pursuit title this weekend. 


Chris Murphy (Rancho Cucamonga, California)
Chris Murphy in competition

2017 national titles: men’s C5 kilo time trial, individual pursuit and scratch race

Murphy won three different titles in 2017, setting a new national record in the scratch race. He also successfully defended his national title in the individual pursuit last year and will look to do the same in 2018.


Chester Triplett (Mooresville, North Carolina)
Chester Triplett in competition

2017 national title: men’s B individual pursuit


Jacob Waters (Ragley, Louisiana)
Jacob Waters with his medal from 2017

2017 national title: men’s C4 individual pursuit
Waters won his first national Para-cycling title last year at just 17 years old. He returns for his second national championships this weekend in hopes of earning additional titles.


Justin Widhalm (Colorado Springs, Colorado)
Justin Widhalm in competition

2017 national title: men’s team sprint


Related Athletes

head shot

Joe Berenyi

head shot

Shawn Cheshire

head shot

Todd Key

head shot

Jason Kimball

head shot

Billy Lister

head shot

Shawn Morelli

head shot

Chris Murphy

head shot

Chester Triplett

head shot

Jacob Waters

head shot

Justin Widhalm

Track Cycling