USOC Confirms Its Participation in Rescheduled World Para Swimming Championships

By Olivia Truby | Oct. 06, 2017, 10:30 a.m. (ET)

 Hannah Aspden will represent Team USA in Mexico City from Nov. 27-Dec. 7.

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — U.S. Paralympics, a division of the United States Olympic Committee, today confirmed its original roster of 22 athletes will represent Team USA at the rescheduled 2017 World Para Swimming Championships, set to take place in Mexico City from Nov. 27-Dec. 7. The event was originally scheduled for Sept. 30-Oct. 6, but was postponed due to the earthquake in Mexico City on Sept. 19. The team, which is comprised of 12 females and 10 males, includes 13 Paralympians and two returning world champions from the 2015 event.

Jessica Long (Baltimore, Maryland), a 23-time Paralympic medalist and 38-time world championships medalist, will return to her sixth world championships as the reigning world champion in the 100-meter butterfly, 100 breaststroke, 200 individual medley and 400 freestyle. Six-time Paralympic medalist and seven-time world championships medalist Becca Meyers (Timonium, Maryland) will look to defend her titles in the 400 free and 200 IM. Six other female Paralympians are included on the roster, including Hannah Aspden (Raleigh, North Carolina), McKenzie Coan (Clarkesville, Georgia), McClain Hermes (Dacula, Georgia), Sophia Herzog (Fairplay, Colorado), Natalie Sims (Minneapolis, Minnesota) and Colleen Young (St. Louis, Missouri).

A world gold medalist in 2009, Tucker Dupree (Raleigh, North Carolina) makes his fifth world championships team, and is joined by fellow Paralympians Tharon Drake (Hobbs, New Mexico), Tye Dutcher (Merced, California), Robert Griswold (Freehold, New Jersey) and Curtis Lovejoy (Atlanta, Georgia).

The team is complete with nine rising stars, including Caleb Cripe (Middlebury, Indiana), Julia Gaffney (Mayflower, Arkansas), Connor Gioffreda (Timonium, Maryland), Gia Pergolini (Roswell, Georgia), Lawrence Sapp (Waldorf, Maryland), Roderick Sewell (Spring Valley, California), Zachary Shattuck (Mt. Airy, Maryland), Aspen Shelton (Willow Park, Texas) and Leanne Smith (Salem, Massachusetts).  

U.S. Roster for 2017 World Para Swimming Championships
*Denotes U.S. Paralympian

*Hannah Aspden (Raleigh, N.C.) - S9/SB8/SM9
*McKenzie Coan (Clarkesville, Ga.) - S7/SB6/SM7
Julia Gaffney (Mayflower, Ark.) - S8/SB6/SM8
*McClain Hermes (Dacula, Ga.) - S12/SB12/SM12
*Sophia Herzog (Fairplay, Colo.) - S6/SB6/SM6
*Jessica Long (Baltimore, Md.) - S8/SB7/SM8
*Becca Meyers (Timonium, Md.) - S13/SB13/SM13
Gia Pergolini (Roswell, Ga.) - S13/SB13/SM13
Aspen Shelton (Willow Park, Texas) - S13/SB13/SM13
*Natalie Sims (Minneapolis, Minn.) - S9/SB9/SM9
Leanne Smith (Salem, Mass.) - S4/SB4/SM4
*Colleen Young (St. Louis, Mo.) - S13/SB13/SM13 

Caleb Cripe (Middlebury, Ind.) - S7/SB8/SM7
*Tharon Drake (Hobbs, N.M.) - S11/SB11/SM11
*Tucker Dupree (Raleigh, N.C.) - S12/SB12/SM12
*Tye Dutcher (Merced, Calif.) - S10/SB9/SM10
Connor Gioffreda (Timonium, Md.) - S6/SB6/SM6
*Robert Griswold (Freehold, N.J.) - S8/SB7/SM8
*Curtis Lovejoy (Atlanta, Ga.) - S2/SB1/SM2                  
Lawrence Sapp (Waldorf, Md.) - S14/SB14/SM14
Roderick Sewell (Spring Valley, Calif.) - S8/SB6/SM8
Zachary Shattuck (Mt. Airy, Md.) - S6/SB6/SM6