Snowboarders Successful At World Cup Final With One Year Until Winter Games

By Stafford Braxton | March 13, 2017, 12:40 p.m. (ET)
Tyler Burdick
Tyler Burdick secured bronze in snowboard-cross in PyeongChang. 

  • Mann, Minor and Strong secured overall world cup titles.
  • Team USA won nine medals – including two golds – at the PyeongChang test event.

PYEONGCHANG – The U.S. Paralympics Snowboard team won four overall world cup titles and brought home nine medals at the 2017 World Para Snowboard World Cup Final, which served as the test event for the Paralympic Winter Games PyeongChang 2018.

During Friday’s snowboard-cross competition, Team USA won four medals with silvers from Keith Gabel (Ogden, Utah) and Brenna Huckaby (Baton Rouge, Louisiana), and bronzes from Amy Purdy (Las Vegas, Nevada) and Tyler Burdick (Salt Lake City, Utah). Mark Mann (Woodbury, Minnesota) and Mike Minor (Waymart, Pennsylvania) had previously secured the necessary points to claim their respective world cup titles, and Evan Strong (Maui, Hawaii) was able to secure his own globe as well to complete the U.S. title sweep.

In Monday’s banked slalom events, Team USA secured five additional medals to close out the PyeongChang test event and world cup final. Minor raced to gold, giving him the overall world cup title in the men’s SB-UL division. Bronze medals from Mike Schultz (Saint Cloud, Minnesota), Mike Shea (Castaic, California) and Purdy rounded out the day, as Huckaby took the final gold by nearly two seconds. 

With the test event serving as the final international event of the 2016-17 season, the U.S. riders will close their season at the U.S. Paralympics Snowboarding National Championships at Copper Mountain in Colorado, March 24-26.

Mark Mann SB-LL1: snowboard-cross
Evan Strong SB-LL2: snowboard-cross
Mike Minor SB-UL: snowboard-cross
Mike Minor SB-UL: banked slalom

Team USA: 9
Keith Gabel (SB-LL2): snowboard-cross silver
Brenna Huckaby (SB-LL1): snowboard-cross silver, banked slalom gold
Amy Purdy (SB-LL1): snowboard-cross bronze, banked slalom bronze
Tyler Burdick (SB-LL1): snowboard-cross bronze
Mike Minor (SB-UL): banked slalom gold
Mike Schultz (SB-LL1): banked slalom bronze
Mike Shea (SB-LL2): banked slalom bronze

Full results of the world cup are available at the World Para Snowboard website.