U.S. Paralympics Cycling Names 2017 Road World Championships Team

By Olivia Truby | June 22, 2017, 12:30 p.m. (ET)

Four-time Paralympian Will Groulx earns a spot on the 2017 road world championships team.

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — U.S. Paralympics, a division of the United States Olympic Committee, today announced its roster of 22 U.S. athletes, including one tandem pilot, who will represent Team USA at the 2017 UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships in Pietermaritzburg, South Africa, from Aug. 31-Sept. 3. The team, which is comprised of 12 males and 10 females, includes 16 Paralympians and three returning road world champions.

“We’re incredibly thrilled about the 22 deserving athletes on the road world championships team,” said Ian Lawless, high performance director for U.S. Paralympics Cycling. “The combination of veteran athletes and newcomers creates a very promising team that will represent the United States well at this year’s event.”

Two-time Paralympic medalists Shawn Morelli (Saegertown, Pennsylvania) and Jamie Whitmore (Sacramento, California) will return to defend their world titles in the road race and time trial, while fellow two-time Paralympic medalist Jill Walsh (Syracuse, New York) will look to repeat as the world champion in the road race. Five other female Paralympians decorate the team, including Samantha Bosco (Upland, California), Alicia Dana (Putney, Vermont), Allison Jones (Colorado Springs, Colorado), Shawn Cheshire (Camillus, New York) and Jennifer Schuble (Homewood, Alabama).

Will Groulx (Portland, Oregon), who is a six-time Paralympic medalist in cycling and wheelchair rugby, and two-time Paralympians Joe Berenyi (Oswego, Illinois) and Matthew Updike (Denver, Colorado) were named to the road world championships team. Additional Paralympians on the team include Ryan Boyle (Monroe, Connecticut), Tom Davis (Fremont, Indiana), Billy Lister (Cold Spring Harbor, New York), Steven Peace (Albion, Michigan) and Freddie de los Santos (Hopewell Junction, New York).

David Berling (Avondale, Arizona) and Monica Sereda (St. Petersburg, Florida) make the road world championships team for the first time.

U.S. Roster for 2017 UCI Para-Cycling Road World Championships
*Denotes U.S. Paralympian

*Samantha Bosco (Upland, Calif.) – WC5
*Shawn Cheshire (stoker/Camillus, N.Y.), Tela Crane (pilot/Sammamish, Wash.) – WB
*Alicia Dana (Putney, Vt.) – WH3
*Allison Jones (Colorado Springs, Colo.) – WC2
*Shawn Morelli (Saegertown, Pa.) – WC4
*Jennifer Schuble (Homewood, Ala.) – WC5
Monica Sereda (St. Petersburg, Fla.) – WT2
*Jill Walsh (Syracuse, N.Y.) – WT2
*Jamie Whitmore (Sacramento, Calif.) – WC3 

*Joe Berenyi (Aurora, Ill.) – MC3
David Berling (Avondale, Ariz.) – MH5
*Ryan Boyle (Monroe, Conn.) – MT2
*Tom Davis (Fremont, Ind.) – MH4
*Will Groulx (Portland, Ore.) – MH2
Aaron Keith (Woodinville, Wash.) – MC2
Todd Key (Scottsdale, Ariz.) – MC1
*Billy Lister (Cold Spring Harbor, N.Y.) – MC1
*Steven Peace (Albion, Mich.) – MT2
David Randall (Ontario, Ohio) – MH3
*Freddie de los Santos (Hopewell Junction, N.Y.) – MH5
*Matthew Updike (Denver, Colo.) – MH3