Team USA Named For 2017 World Para Athletics Championships In London

By Brianna Tammaro | June 08, 2017, 10:30 a.m. (ET)
The U.S. roster for the 2017 World Para Athletics Championships in London fincludes 43 Paralympians and 20 Rio medalists competing at Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park from July 14-23.

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Fifty athletes and three guides were selected for Team USA competing at the 2017 World Para Athletics Championships today by U.S. Paralympics, a division of the United States Olympic Committee. The event being held in London from July 14-23 will be the first major international track and field competition since the Paralympic Games Rio 2016 where Team USA won 42 medals.

“Coming off one of our most successful Paralympic performances in recent Games history, the team representing our country at world championships is a true reflection of the how strong our track and field program is,” Cathy Sellers, U.S. Paralympics Track & Field High Performance Director said. “With a mix of stars who have already established themselves as the best in the world and a new generation of young and exciting talent, we are thrilled to showcase our talent on the world stage again in London.”

The U.S. will send an experienced team to London with 43 Paralympians on the roster. Twenty of the athletes wearing the red, white and blue this summer combined for 38 of Team USA’s 42 medals in Rio. Headlining the U.S. team are multi Games-medalists and world record-holders Tatyana McFadden (Clarksville, Maryland), Lex Gillette (Raleigh, North Carolina), and Mikey Brannigan (East Northport, New York). McFadden, who won six medals in Rio, will return to world championship action after missing 2015’s edition with sights set on owning every world record in the women’s T54 class.

 “I’m so happy to be representing Team USA and returning to London this summer,” McFadden said. “The London Games is where I won my first gold medals on the track so it’s a really special place to me. After a difficult stretch since Rio, I can’t wait to go full speed and compete on the world stage again against the best at world championships.”

Six athletes will return to Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park in hopes of repeating the success they had at the 2012 Games like gold medalists Ray Martin (Jersey City, New Jersey) and Jeremy Campbell (Perryton, Texas).

A crop of young Rio medalists including Deja Young (Mesquite, Texas) and Sam Grewe (Middlebury, Indiana) will look to defend their world titles from Doha, Qatar while Alexa Halko (Williamsburg, Virginia) and Hunter Woodhall (Syracuse, Utah) are seeking to convert their world silver medals to gold. Several newcomers will be also making their international debut, including Jaleen Roberts (Spokane, Washington) and Isaac Jean-Paul (Grayslake, Illinois) who set a high jump world record last weekend at the U.S. Paralympics Track & Field National Championships.

Team USA won 39 medals at the 2015 world championships in Doha. This year’s event is already making history as the first time that the World Para Athletics Championships and the IAAF World Championships will be held in the same city. London will host approximately 1,300 athletes contesting 213 medal events across 10 days of competition.

2017 U.S. Paralympics Track & Field World Championship Team

*Denotes U.S. Paralympian

# Denotes Rio 2016 medalist

Name Hometown Classification
*#David Blair Eagle Mountain, Utah F44
*#Michael Brannigan East Northport, N.Y. T20
Jack Briggs Fort Collins, Colo. T47
*#David Brown St. Louis, Mo. T11
*#Jerome Avery Lemoore, Calif. Guide Runner 
*Jeremy Campbell Perryton, Texas F44
Josh Cinnamo Lakeville, Minn. F46
*AJ Digby Bowling Green, Ohio T43
*Tobi Fawehinmi Arlington, Texas F47
*#Lex Gillette Raleigh, N.C. T11
*#Wes Williams Visalia, Calif. Guide Runner 
*#Sam Grewe Middlebury, Ind. F42
*Tyson Gunter Pocatello, Idaho F13
*Erik Hightower Glendale, Ariz. T54
*#Gianfranco Iannotta Garfield, N.J. T52
*Desmond Jackson Durham, N.C. T42
*Josiah Jamison Vance, S.C. T12
*Rolland Slade Spring Valley, Calif. Guide Runner 
Isaac Jean-Paul Grayslake, Illinois F13
*Ayden Jent Indianapolis, Ind. T35
*#Raymond Martin Jersey City, N.J. T52
*Michael Murray Nashville, Tenn. T20
*David Prince Marietta, Ga. T44
*Austin Pruitt Spokane, Wash. T34
*Nick Rogers Lisbon, Maine T43
*Daniel Romanchuk Mount Airy, Md. T54
*#Scot Severn Caro, Mich. / Army F53
*Brian Siemann Millstone, N.J. T53
*Jerome Singleton Jr. Irmo, S.C. T44
*#Roderick Townsend Stockton, Calif. T46
*Jarryd Wallace Athens, Ga. T44
*#Hunter Woodhall Syracuse, Utah T43
*Regas Woods Sr. Ocala, Fla. T42
Tanner Wright Abilene, Texas T46
Marshall Zackery Ocala, Fla. T35
*Femita Ayanbeku Whitman, Mass. T44
*Scout Bassett Laguna Niguel, Calif. T42
Kaitlin Bounds Russellville, Ark. T20
*#Breanna Clark Los Angeles, Calif. T20
*#Kym Crosby Yuba City, Calif. T13
*#Alexa Halko Williamsburg, Va. T34
*Kelsey LeFevour Chicago, Ill. T53
*#Cheri Madsen Union, Neb. T54
*#Chelsea McClammer Richland, Wash. T53
*Hannah McFadden Clarksville, Md. T54
*#Tatyana McFadden Clarksville, Md. T54
*#Amanda McGrory Kennett Square, Pa. T54
*#Cassie Mitchell Atlanta, Ga. F51
*#Rachael Morrison Farmington Hills, Mich. F51
Jaleen Roberts Spokane, Wash. T37
*Susannah Scaroni Urbana, Ill. T54
*Taleah Williams Norfolk, Neb. T47
*#Deja Young Mesquite, Texas T46