U.S. Swimmers Make Final World Series Stop In Berlin

By Stafford Braxton | July 05, 2017, 10:40 a.m. (ET)

Paralympian McKenzie Coan will represent Team USA on the final stop of the World Para Swimming World Series in Berlin. 

Team USA will embark on the final stop of the World Para Swimming World Series tour this week, competing July 6-9 in Berlin. Having walked away with 57 total first-place finishes at the world series stop in Indianapolis, the team will look to finish the first-ever world series circuit strong. Following the competition in Berlin, Team USA will put it all on the line at the U.S. Paralympics Swimming World Championship Trials in Colorado Springs, Colorado, July 21-23. There, athletes will compete for a chance to make the U.S. roster competing in Mexico City at the World Para Swimming World Championships from Sept. 30 – Oct. 6.

Experienced Paralympians and national team members are set to lead the way in Berlin. One of the athletes aiming to top the podium is four-time Paralympic medalist McKenzie Coan (Clarkesville, Georgia) who will swim her signature event in the S7 100-meter freestyle, while also looking to take wins in the 200 free and 50 backstroke. Her Paralympic teammates include two-time Paralympic medalist Lizzi Smith (Muncie, Indiana), Martha Ruether (Allegany, New York) and Paralympic medalist Robert Griswold (Freehold, New Jersey).

Griswold returns to the pool after setting the American and Pan American record in the S8 100 back (1:04.34) in Indianapolis. In addition to the 100 back, he will swim the 400 free and the 50 and 200 back.

The U.S. Emerging Team will have nine rising stars in the pool, many of whom will make their international debut. The men’s side will be represented by David Gelfand (Weston, Connecticut), Connor Gioffreda (Timonium, Maryland), Lucas McCrory (Chapel Hill, North Carolina), Joseph Peppersack (Hopewell, Virginia) and Matthew Torres (Ansonia, Connecticut). The women will be represented by Julia Gaffney (Mayflower, Arkansas), Ahalya Lettenberger (Glen Ellyn, Illinois), Gia Pergolini (Roswell, Georgia) and Aspen Shelton (Willow Park, Texas).

Follow U.S. Paralympics on Facebook and Twitter for updated information during the event. Full results can be found here