U.S. Paralympics Swimming National Team Named For 2016

By Katie Branham | Jan. 13, 2016, 11:59 a.m. (ET)

Jessica Long is one of three reigning world champions returning to the U.S. Paralympics Swimming National Team

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – U.S. Paralympics, a division of the United States Olympic Committee, announced today that 29 athletes, including three reigning world champions, have been named to the 2016 U.S. Paralympics Swimming National Team.

“We are in a great position for 2016, we have an accomplished group of swimmers to lead Team USA into the Paralympic year,” said Queenie Nichols, high performance director for U.S. Paralympics swimming. “I’m always excited to see our decorated veterans return to the team, but it is especially gratifying to see so many of our young up and comers continually improving and being named to the national team.”

Of those named to the team, 19 represented Team USA at the 2015 IPC Swimming World Championships and three are reigning world champions. Cortney Jordan (Henderson, Nevada), Jessica Long (Baltimore, Maryland) and Rebecca Meyers (Timonium, Maryland) won a combined seven world titles in 2015.

Eighteen members of the team boast Paralympic experience, with Long owning the most medals with 12 gold medals and 17 overall.

Team USA had an impressive showing in 2015, highlighted by a 30-medal haul at the world championships in July and a 32-medal haul at the Parapan American Games in August.

Team USA starts the year with the Jimi Flowers Classic on Jan. 16-17 in Colorado Springs. Swimmers will have the opportunity to qualify for the Rio Paralympic Games at the 2016 U.S. Paralympic Team Trials for cycling, swimming and track and field in Charlotte, North Carolina June 30-July 2.

Additional athletes may be added to the team rosters throughout the season.

2016 National A Team
Hannah Aspden Raleigh, N.C. S9/SB8/SM9
McKenzie Coan Clarkesville, Ga. S8/SB7/SM8
Cortney Jordan Henderson, Nev. S7/SB7/SM7
Michelle Konkoly Eagleville, Pa. S9/SB8/SM9
Jessica Long Baltimore, Md. S8/SB7/SM8
Rebecca Meyers Timonium, Md. S13/SB13/SM13
Martha Ruether Allegany, N.Y. S13/SB13/SM13
Elizabeth Smith Muncie, Ind. S9/SB9/SM9
Elizabeth Wasil Colorado Springs, Colo. S10/SB9/SM10
Colleen Young St. Louis, Mo. S13/SB13/SM13
Tharon Drake Hobbs, N.M. S11/SB11/SM11
Tucker Dupree Raleigh, N.C. S12/SB12/SM12
Robert Griswold Freehold, N.J. S9/SB8/SM9
Roy Perkins Del Mar, Calif. S5/SB4/SM5
2016 National B Team
Reilly Boyt Ft. Collins, Colo. S6/SB6/SM6
Brickelle Bro Castle Rock, Colo. S8/SB7/SM8
Anna Eames Golden Valley, Minn. S10/SB9/SM10
Alyssa Gialamas Naperville, Ill. S5/SB5/SM5
Sophia Herzog Fairplay, Colo. S6/SB6/SM6
Anna Johannes Alexandria, Va. S9/SB8/SM9
Letticia Martinez Las Cruces, N.M. S11/SB11/SM11
Noga Nir-Kistler Allentown, Pa. S6/SB5/SM6
Nelya Schasfoort Avon Lake, Ohio S7/SB7/SM7
Mallory Weggemann Eagan, Minn. S8/SB7/SM8
Evan Austin Terre Haute, Ind. S8/SB7/SM8
Cody Bureau Latrobe, Pa. S9/SB9/SM9
Michael DeMarco San Diego, Calif. S3/SB2/SM3
Ryan Duemler Chesterfield, Mo. S8/SB7/SM8
Rudy Garcia-Tolson Bloomington, Calif. S8/SB7/SM7