U.S. Team Named For 2016 UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships

By Brianna Tammaro | Feb. 09, 2016, 3 p.m. (ET)

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — U.S. Paralympics, a division of the United States Olympic Committee, announced today the 18 athletes, including two tandem pilots, who will represent Team USA at the 2016 UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships, March 17-20, in Montichiari, Italy.

“We’re very excited to showcase why we’re the top-ranked team in the world in Italy,” said Ian Lawless, high performance director U.S. Paralympics Cycling. “This will be the final opportunity on the track to see where we are against the world’s best before Rio this summer. Our team has a strong foundation with two reigning track world champions and we hope to crown more in March.”

Two U.S. athletes will aim to defend their world titles on the track in Montichiari. Joe Berenyi (Oswego, Illinois) won three medals – including two golds – at the 2015 UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships in Apeldoorn, Netherlands, taking the men’s C3 3-kilometer individual pursuit and time trial titles. Jamie Whitmore (Mount Aukum, California) also captured three medals, winning gold in the women’s C3 500-meter time trial and two silver medals in the 3km pursuit and scratch race. Team USA left Apeldoorn with 12 medals (four gold, four silver, four bronze) to finish third in the medal count.

Seven of the U.S. athletes have also represented their country in the military with six from the Army and two from the Marine Corps. Jason Kimball (Charlotte, North Carolina) served in both the Marine Corps and the Army.

Team USA is the top-ranked nation in track, road and the overall International Cycling Union standings after a strong 2015 that included a 12-medal haul at track world championships, and an 18-medal performance at July’s UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships in Nottwil, Switzerland.

U.S. Roster for 2016 UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships
*Denotes U.S. Paralympian
#Denotes medalist at the 2015 UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships

Name Hometown Classification
*#Joseph Berenyi Oswego, Ill. MC3
Aaron Keith Woodinville, Wash. MC2
Todd Key Scottsdale, Ariz. MC1
Jason Kimball Charlotte, N.C. (Marine Corps/Army) MC3
William (Billy) Lister Huntington Beach, Calif. MC1
Scott Martin Oceanside, Calif. (Marine Corps) MC4
Christopher Murphy Alta Loma, Calif. MC5
Chester Triplett Mooresville, N.C. (Army) MB - Stoker
Kyle Knott Rock Hill, S.C. MB - Pilot
Justin Widhalm Colorado Springs, Colo. (Army) MC4
Samantha (Heinrich) Bosco Spring Hill, Fla. WC5
Shawn Cheshire Camillus, N.Y. (Army) WB - Stoker
*Mackenzie Woodring Belmont, Mich. WB - Pilot
*#Megan Fisher Missoula, Mont. WC4
*#Allison Jones Colorado Springs, Colo. WC2
#Shawn Morelli Leavenworth, Kans. (Army) WC4
*Jennifer Schuble Birmingham, Ala. (Army) WC5
#Jamie Whitmore Mount Aukum, Calif. WC3