Team USA named for 2015 UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships

By Katie Branham | June 10, 2015, 11:30 a.m. (ET)

Cyclist Aaron Keith, one of seven reigning world champions returning, pictured at 2014 UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships. 

COLORADO SPRINGS , Colo. – U.S. Paralympics, a division of the United States Olympic Committee, announced its roster of 24 athletes today, including two tandem pilots, who will represent Team USA at the 2015 UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships in Nottwil, Switzerland, from July 28-Aug. 2.

Team USA was victorious at the 2014 edition of the championships as the American’s topped the medal count with 18 medals (nine gold, six silver and three bronze). Every medal winner from the 2014 championships will return to defend their podium positions.

“Our team for the world championships has a perfect combination of experienced veterans and fresh faces,” said Ian Lawless, high performance director U.S. Paralympics cycling. “All of these athletes are eager to represent Team USA and ascend the podium."

The U.S. roster boasts seven reigning world champions, including Allison Jones (Colorado Springs, Colorado) and Jamie Whitmore (Mount Aukum, California) who swept the C2 and C3 events, respectively.

Other reigning champions include: Aaron Keith (Woodinville, Washington) C2 time trial, Will Groulx (Portland, Oregon) H2 time trial, Alicia Dana (Putney, Vermont) H3 road race, Megan Fisher (Missoula, Montana) C4 time trial and Shawn Morelli (Leavenworth, Kansas) C4 road race.

The U.S. team also features 11 athletes who finished just shy of the podium with fourth place finishes at the 2014 championships.

Eight of the U.S. athletes have also represented their country in the military. Four athletes are from the Navy, three are from the Army and one from the Marine Corps.

U.S. Roster for 2015 UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships

*Denotes U.S. Paralympians

Athlete Hometown Classification
*Joe Berenyi 
Oswego, Ill.
Ryan Boyle
Marietta, Ga.
*Dan Cnossen 
Navy/Topeka, Kan.
Tom Davis Army/Freemont, Ind.
Will Groulx Navy/Portland, Ore.
Aaron Keith Woodinville, Wash.
Will Lachenauer Reno, Nev.
*Steven Peace Navy/San Diego, Calif.
David Randall Navy/Ontario, Ohio MH3
Aaron Scheides Farmington, Mich.
MB - stoker
Colin Riley Cincinnati, Ohio
MB - pilot
*Oz Sanchez Marine Corps/San Diego, Calif.
Brian Sheridan Clarkston, Mich. MH2
Shawn Cheshire Army/Camillus, N.Y.
WB - stoker
*Mackenzie Woodring Belmont, Mich.
WB - pilot
*Alicia Dana Putney, Vt.
*Megan Fisher Missoula, Mont. WC4
Samantha Heinrich Spring Hill, Fla. WC5
*Allison Jones Colorado Springs, Colo. WC2
*Oksana Masters Louisville, Ky. WH5
Shawn Morelli Army/Leavenworth, Kan.
*Greta Neimanas Chicago, Ill. WC5
Jill Walsh Syracuse, N.Y. WT2
Jamie Whitmore Mount Aukum, Calif. WC3