Meet the 2015 IPC Marathon World Championship Team

By Mary Kate Lau | Feb. 05, 2015, 11:39 a.m. (ET)

U.S. Paralympics, a division of the United States Olympic Committee, announced today the nine athletes to compete at the International Paralympic Committee Athletics Marathon World Championships. The 2015 marathon championships will be held in association with the London Marathon on April 26 in London. 

“This is a very strong team that we are sending to London for the world championships. I’m hoping that our athletes bring home at least two medals, if not more," said Cathy Sellers, high performance director for U.S. Paralympics Track and Field. "This event provides a great opportunity for Team USA to kick-off what should be a very successful year on the roads, on the track and in the field.”

Here's a look at the athletes on the Team USA roster:

Josh George      
Herndon, Virginia | Classification: T53

George has competed and medaled at the past three Paralympic Games and is the reigning world champion in the men's 800m T53 race. He has won the Chicago Marathon men's wheelchair title four times, most recently in 2014 with a time of 1:32:12.

Ray Martin
Jersey City, New Jersey | Classification: T52

Martin is a four-time Paralympic gold medalist, five-time world champion and two-time USOC Male Paralympic Athlete of the Year (2012, 2013). Despite the lack of a major championship last season, Martin still made waves, setting the world record in the men’s 200-meter T52 race, running a 30.02 at the Desert Challenge in Mesa, Arizona. He also set world records at the Fast Cow and Indy International meets in the 400m and 1500m.

Chelsea McClammer
Benton City, Washington | Classification: T53

The youngest member of the 2008 U.S. Paralympic Team, McClammer competed in the women's 800m T54 and finished in eighth place. She placed third in the 200m at the 2013 world championships and in 2014, McClammer finished 1st at the Indianapolis Mini Marathon, 4th at the Chicago Marathon and 9th at the New York City Marathon. 

Tatyana McFadden
Clarksville, Maryland | Classification: T54

London. Boston. Chicago. New York City. All great cities, all with prestigious marathons - and McFadden has won the wheelchair race at each for the past two years. She’s also the first woman to win six events at the IPC Athletics World Championships. She won three gold and one bronze  at the London 2012 Paralympic Games.

Amanda McGrory
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania | Classification: T53

McGrory is a three-time medalist at the Paralympic Games including silver in the women’s marathon at the 2008 Games. She is also a two-time world champion in the 800m. McGrory won the 2006 and 2011 New York City Marathon, 2010 Chicago Marathon and the 2012 Paris Marathon.

Shirley Reilly
Tucson, Arizona | Classification: T53

Reilly has competed at the last three Paralympic Games and earned three medals at the 2012 Games, including gold in the women’s marathon. She won the 2011 and 2012 LA Marathons as well as the 2012 Boston Marathon. She won the silver medal in the 400m at the 2013 world championships.

Jason Romero   
Denver, Colorado | Classification: T13

Romero is an ultrarunner and has competed in multiple races of 100 miles or longer, including the grueling Leadville Trail 100. He is the 2014 U.S. Association of Blind Athletes National Marathon Champion.

James Senbeta 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania | Classification: T54

Senbeta has only been racing for a few years but he is quickly moving up in the standings. He placed 13th in Grandma’s marathon and 24th and the Boston Marathon in 2013. He then went on to place fifth in the LA Marathon later that year. He returned to Grandma’s marathon in 2014 and placed ninth in the Boston Marathon. Most recently, he set a course record at the 2014 New Balance Falmouth Road Race.

Susannah Scaroni
Tekoa, Washington | Classification: T54

Scaroni was a member of Team USA for the London 2012 Paralympic Games where she placed eighth in the women’s marathon. She placed in the top–10 at the 2012 Boston Marathon and came in second at the 2012 Grandma’s Marathon, won the 2013 LA Marathon and won the Twin Cities Marathon in both 2013 and 2014.