Three Paralympians nominated for Best of March for the Team USA Awards presented by Dow

By Mary Kate Lau | April 03, 2015, 5:51 p.m. (ET)

Joe Berenyi, Andrew Kurka and Oksana Masters are all nominated for Team USA's best of March award.

Colorado Springs, Colorado - Three Paralympians have been named to the short list for Best of March for the Team USA Awards presented by Dow. Joe Berenyi (Oswego, Illinois), Andrew Kurka (Palmer, Alaska) and Oksana Masters (Louisville, Kentucky) were selected for their impressive feats this past month.

Five nominees were chosen for both the male and female categories, and three for the team category to move on to the voting round. National Governing Body representatives will account for 50 percent of vote, with the other half decided by fan voting.

Three-time Paralympic medalist Berenyi led the U.S. at UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships by opening the competition with two world titles in the men’s C3 1-kilometer time trial and 3km pursuit on the first two days of competition. The 1-kilometer time trial win was especially significant for Berenyi after coming .039 of a second from the podium at last year’s world championships. Berenyi also earned silver in the scratch race and fourth place as part of Team USA in the team sprint.

Three months after breaking his femur in a skiing accident, Kurka grabbed a bronze medal in the men’s super-G sitting race. The Paralympian earned his first world championship medal with a third place finish, where he came in .12 seconds from silver. Kurka then went on to earn a national title in giant slalom last week in Loon Mountain, New Hampshire.

Three-time Paralympic medalist Masters claimed her final two gold medals of the season at the 2015 IPC Nordic Skiing World Cup Final in convincing fashion. In her 12-kilometer sitting cross-country race she was 52.8 seconds ahead of the pack. Four days later, her middle distance win clinched the overall world cup title.

The other nominees in the women’s category are Simone Biles, Gwen Jorgensen, Kiley McKinnon and Kim Rhode. In the men’s category, Mac Bohonnon, Jason Brown and Vincent Hancock were also chosen. Fan voting will be open for five days on