2014 U.S. Paralympics Track & Field National Team named

By Katie Branham | Jan. 13, 2014, 1:08 p.m. (ET)
 Raymond Martin
 Raymond Martin was named the 2013 Paralympic SportsMan of the Year and is one of 10 reigning world champions on the 2014 national team

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – U.S. Paralympics, a division of the United States Olympic Committee, announced today that 43 athletes, including 10 reigning world champions, have been named to the 2014 U.S. Paralympics Track & Field National Team. 

“The 2014 national team is one of the strongest and most diverse teams that we have named,” said Cathy Sellers, high performance director for U.S. Paralympics track & field. “Each and every one of these athletes has the potential to medal in Rio.  Across the board, this is a young group of athletes as compared to their competitors, and the future looks bright for Paralympic track & field.”

Team USA is coming off a banner year in 2013 that saw the U.S. win 52 medals (17 gold, 18 silver, 17 bronze) at the International Paralympic Committee Athletics World Championships. Team USA was only one medal short of winning the medal count, and was markedly improved from the previous high of 34 medals at the 2011 championships.

Tatyana McFadden (Clarksville, Md.) and Raymond Martin (Jersey City, N.J.) headline the roster after sweeping their events at the 2103 world championships. The duo made history as Martin became the first man to win five events (100, 200, 400, 800, 1500 meters T52) in a single championship, while McFadden became the first woman to win six events (100,200, 400, 800, 50000 meters T54) in a single championship. McFadden also excelled on the roads as she completed the grand slam of wheelchair racing winning the Boston, London, Chicago and New York Marathons.

Other team members who won world titles in 2013 include: Jeremy Campbell (Perryton, Texas), men's discus F44; George, men's 800m T53; Elexis Gillette (Raleigh, N.C.), men's long jump F11; Cassie Mitchell (Atlanta, Ga.), women's shot put F52/53; and Jarryd Wallace (Athens, Ga.), men's 200m T44. Richard Browne (Jackson, Miss.), Blake Leeper (Kingsport, Tenn.), Jerome Singleton (Irmo, S.C.) and Wallace also won gold in the men's 4x100m relay T42-46.

The national team also boasts the recipients of two of the USOC’s most prestigious awards given in 2013. Martin was named the Paralympic SportsMan of the Year for the second consecutive year, and the men’s 4x100-meter T42-46 team of Browne, Leeper, Singleton and Wallace was named the Paralympic Team of the Year.

Team USA begins the 2014 season April 17-19 at the Mt. SAC Relays in Walnut, Calif.

Additional athletes may be added to the team roster throughout the season.

2014 U.S. Paralympics Track & Field National Team

 Name Hometown Class
Jerome Avery Lemoore, Calif. Guide
David Brown St. Louis, Mo. T11/F11
Richard Browne Jackson, Miss. T44
Kate Callahan San Antonio, Texas F57
Jeremy Campbell Perryton, Texas F44
Zena Cole Oregon, Ohio F51
Tobi Fawehinmi Arlington, Texas T46/F46
Rudy Garcia-Tolson Bloomington, Calif. T42/F42
Joshua George Herndon, Va. T53
Elexis Gillette Raleigh, N.C. T11/F11
Tyson Gunter Pocatello, Idaho F13
Erik Hightower Glendale, Ariz. T54
April Holmes Kissimmee, Fla. T44
Gianfranco Iannotta Garfield, N.J. T52
Josiah Jamison Vance, S.C. T12
Joshua Kennison South Paris, Maine T/F43
Blake Leeper Kingsport, Tenn. T43
Cheri Madsen Union, Neb. T54
Ray Martin Jersey City, N.J. T52
Centra Mazyck Columbia , S.C. F57
Chelsea McClammer Benton City, Wash. T53
Hannah McFadden Clarksville, Md. T54
Tatyana McFadden Clarksville, Md. T54
Amanda McGrory Kennett Square, Pa. T53
Cassie Mitchell Atlanta, Ga. T52/F52
Kerry Morgan St. Louis, Mo. T52
Dennis Ogbe Prospect, Ky. F58
Markeith Price Baltimore, Md. T13/F13
David Prince Sarasota, Fla. T44
Austin Pruitt Spokane, Wash. T34
Shirley Reilly Tucson, Ariz. T53
Scot Severn Caro, Mich. F53
Brian Siemann Millstone, N.J. T53
Jerome Singleton, Jr. Irmo, S.C. T44
Jeffrey Skiba Sammamish, Wash. F44
Rolland Slade San Diego, Calif. Guide
Scott Stokes Roswell, Ga. T/F51
Casey Tibbs San Antonio, Texas T44/F44
Steven Toyoji Campbell, Calif. T52
Shaquille Vance Houston, Miss. T42/F42
Jarryd Wallace Athens, Ga. T44
Wes Williams Visalia, Calif. Guide
Scott Winkler Pittsburgh, Pa. F55