2015 U.S. Paralympics Cycling National Team named

By Katie Branham | Dec. 11, 2014, 10:43 a.m. (ET)

Will Groulx won three medals, including gold in the men's H2 time trial at the 2014 UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – U.S. Paralympics, a division of the United States Olympic Committee, announced today that nine athletes, including seven reigning world champions, have been named to the 2015 U.S. Paralympics Cycling National A Team. Nine athletes and one tandem pilot were named to the national B team, with an additional six athletes named to the national development team.

“We are confident that the team we have named for the 2015 season will continue the momentum we developed last year as we keep our sights firmly set on being the world’s best cycling team at the Rio Paralympic Games,” said Ian Lawless, high performance director for U.S. Paralympics cycling. “From the returning world champions, to the athletes who are on the cusp of podium finishes, we expect 2015 to be a year of continued growth and excellence.”

The U.S. team is coming off of a successful 2014 season that saw the team win the overall and the gold medal count with 18 medals at the UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships in Greenville, South Carolina.

Reigning world champions returning to the national team include: Alicia Dana (Putney, Vermont), Will Groulx (Portland, Oregon), Aaron Keith (Woodinville, Washington), Megan Fisher (Missoula, Montana), Allison Jones (Colorado Springs, Colorado), Shawn Morelli (Leavenworth, Kansas) and Jamie Whitmore (Mount Aukum, California).

Team USA begins the 2015 season at the U.S. Paralympics Track Cycling Open Feb. 7-8 at the Velo Center in Carson, California to select the team that will compete at the UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships in Apeldoorn, Netherlands, March 26-29. The road season will conclude with the UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships in Nottwil, Switzerland July 28-Aug. 2.

Additional athletes may be added to the team rosters throughout the season.

2015 U.S. Paralympics Cycling National Teams

National A Team

Ryan Boyle (Marietta, Ga.)
Alicia Dana (Putney, Vt.)
Will Groulx (Portland, Ore.)
Samantha Heinrich (Spring Hill, Fla.)
Allison Jones (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Shawn Morelli (Army/Leavenworth, Kan.)
Greta Neimanas (Chicago, Ill.)
Jill Walsh (Syracuse, N.Y.)
Jamie Whitmore (Mount Aukum, Calif.) 

National B Team
Joe Berenyi (Oswego, Ill.)
Megan Fisher (Missoula, Mt.)
Aaron Keith (Woodinville, Wash.)
Will Lachenauer (Reno, Nev.)
Scott Martin (Marine Corps/Oceanside, Calif.)
Steven Peace (Navy/San Diego, Calif.)
Clark Rachfal (Annapolis, Md.) and pilot Dave Swanson (Tucson, Ariz.)
Jennifer Schuble (Birmingham, Ala.)
Matt Updike (Denver, Colo.)

National Developmental Team
Brian Sheridan (Clarkston, Mich.)
Oz Sanchez (Marine Corps/San Diego, Calif.)
Dan Cnossen (Navy/Topeka, Kan.)
Jon Copsey (Marine Corps/Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Chris Murphy (Alta Loma, Calif.)
Todd Key (Scottsdale, Ariz.)