U.S. para-cyclists close world championships with more hardware

By Jamie M. Blanchard | Sept. 01, 2013, 8:30 p.m. (ET)

BAIE-COMEAU, Quebec — The 2013 International Cycling Union Para-cycling Road World Championships concluded today in Baie-Comeau, Quebec, with Team USA claiming three gold medals, one silver medal and one bronze medal. Over the four day competition, Team USA claimed 19 medals (12 gold, two silver and five bronze), finishing No. 1 in the medal count, five medals ahead of Italy.

Megan Fisher (Missoula, Mont.) won her second world championship of the event while Jamie Whitmore (Sacramento, Calif.), crowned the overall title winner in women’s C3  at the UCI Para-cycling Road World Cup Finals last week, also claimed her second gold. Allison Jones (Colorado Springs, Colo.) was victorious in the women’s C2 road race for her second 2013 world title.

Greta Neimanas (Chicago, Ill./Ashville, N.C.) won Team USA’s first medal of the day, a bronze medal in the women’s C5 road race with teammate Samantha Heinrich (Spring Hill, Fla.) crossing the line in sixth place. In the time trial on Friday, Neimanas claimed the gold medal and Heinrich earned the bronze medal.

After Neimanas won the bronze, Fisher won the women’s C4 road race over Canada’s Marie-Claude Molnar by 58 seconds. Whitmore was victorious in the women's C3 road race by more than four minutes, topping Australia's Simone Kennedy, 1:27.45 to 1:32.04. Both Fisher and Whitmore won time trial world titles Friday.

Jones also claimed her second gold medal of the world championship on Sunday, beating Czech Republic's Tereza Diepoldova, 1:28.32 to 1:31.48. Like her U.S. teammates, Jones won the time trial earlier in the competition.

The day concluded with a silver medal for Team USA in the team relay with William Lachenauer (Reno, Nev.), Muffy Davis (Sun Valley, Idaho/Salt Lake City, Utah) and U.S. Marine Corps veteran Oz Sanchez (Los Angeles, Calif.) competing for the red, white and blue.

In other action, U.S. Marines Corps veteran Jonathan Copsey (Carmel Valley, Calif.) narrowly missed the podium in the men’s C4 road race, finishing fourth, with fellow U.S. Marine Corps veteran Jeffrey Martin (Oceanside, Calif.) in ninth.

Matthew Bigos finished sixth in the men’s C1 road race.

In the women's B road race, Karissa Whitsell (Colorado Springs, Colo.) and pilot Mackenzie Woodring (Belmont, Mich) placed seventh, Rachael Scdoris (Bend, Ore.) and pilot Lisa Turnbull (Springfield, Ore.) finished ninth and U.S. Army Shawn Chesire (Syracuse, N.Y.) and pilot Jennifer Triplett (Colorado Springs, Colo.) were 11th.

Aaron Keith, the world champion in the time trial competition, finished ninth in the men’s C2 road race.

Clark Rachfal (Annapolis, Md.) and pilot David Swanson (Tucson, Ariz.) were 16th in the men's B road race.

For more information, please contact Jamie Blanchard, U.S. Paralympics, at 719-866-2068 or jamie.blanchard@usoc.org.