Ann Cody re-elected to IPC Governing Board

By U.S. Paralympics | Nov. 24, 2013, 11 a.m. (ET)

ATHENS, Greece – Ann Cody was re-elected as a member of the International Paralympic Committee Governing Board after a final vote at the IPC General Assembly and Conference in Athens, Greece.

“I am pleased to have the opportunity to continue serving the Paralympic Movement as a member of the IPC Governing Board for the next four years,” said Cody. “I look forward to working with the Governing Board and representing the interests of every sector of the Paralympic Movement.”

Following her retirement from Paralympic competition, Cody has pursued a successful business career which has seen her hold a number of senior corporate positions in Washington D.C. She led the policy reform efforts within the United States Olympic Committee resulting in increased resources and a greater focus on the priorities of U.S. Paralympics across the organization.

“I would like to congratulate Ann and all of the appointees on their selection to these important positions,” said Jim Benson, president of U.S. Paralympics. “Through her leadership and global perspective, Ann will undoubtedly make a significant contribution to the continued growth of the Paralympic Movement for years to come.”

As BlazeSports America’s current director of policy and global outreach, she has worked with the U.S. Agency for International Development, the United Nations’ Office on Sport for Development and Peace and U.S. Department of State while overseeing implementation of sport development and diplomacy programs with Paralympic partners in Africa, Asia, the Caribbean, and Europe. She also has contributed to the work of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities, Article 30.5 that recognizes sports participation as a human right. 

In other elections, Great Britain's Sir Philip Craven has been re-elected IPC president for a fourth successive term.

The five-time Paralympian, who was first elected as IPC President in 2001, will serve a final four year term after he received 127 votes in the IPC Governing Board elections. Sir Philip was chosen over fellow Britain and CPISRA candidate Alan Dickson who polled 20 votes.

In total 147 IPC members made up of National Paralympic Committees, International Federations, Regional Organizations and International Organizations of Sport for the Disabled were in attendance in Athens and eligible to take part in the election, meaning that no-one abstained from voting.

"I'm honored and delighted to be re-elected as the President of the IPC and I'd like to thank my colleagues and peers for their continued and steadfast support,” he said. “Today, this wonderful Movement has reaffirmed its trust in me and I pledge to repay that faith by maintaining the momentum and building on the tremendous progress we have made in recent years.”

Andrew Parsons, who is the president of the Brazilian Paralympic Committee, was elected vice president. Parsons, 36, served as President of the Americas Paralympic Committee 2005-09 and has been an IPC Governing Board member since 2009. Parsons, who received 96 votes to finish ahead of America's Ann Cody with 52 votes, replaces Australia's Greg Hartung who did not seek re-election in Athens.

"I'd like to thank Ann Cody, she put forward a strong case for election and I look forward to working with her and the other members of the newly elected Governing Board,” Parsons said.

Ten Members at Large were also elected to the IPC Governing Board on Sunday.

In the first round the following members were elected:

  • Mohamed Alhameli (UAE - NPC United Arab Emirates)
  • Kyung-won Na (KOR - NPC Korea)
  • Yasushi Yamawaki (JPN - NPC Japan)

In the second round of voting, the following members were elected:

  • Ann Cody (USA - NPC USA) 
  • Rita van Driel (NED - NPC Netherlands) 
  • Patrick Jarvis (CAN - NPC Canada)
  • Duane Kale (NZL - NPC New Zealand) 
  • Jairus Mogalo (KEN - NPC Kenya) 
  • John Petersson (DEN - NPC Denmark) 
  • Miguel Sagarra (ESP - NPC Spain)