U.S. Paralympics names team for UCI Para-cycling World Championships

By Beth Bourgeois | July 05, 2013, 3 p.m. (ET)
Meg Fisher
Megan Fisher is among the athletes who will compete for the United States at the UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships in Baie-Comeau, Canada.

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Today U.S. Paralympics, a division of the United States Olympic Committee, announced its roster of 27 U.S. athletes, including four pilots, who will compete at the upcoming UCI Cycling Road World Championships in Baie-Comeau, Canada from August 29 to September 2.

The roster, which includes 12 male athletes and 15 female athletes, was named based on performances at the USA Cycling Para-cycling Road Race National Championships in Madison, Wis. on July 4.

The team is highlighted by 2012 three-time Paralympic gold medalist Muffy Davis, who is also a 2013 ESPY nominee, 2012 two-time Paralympic medalist Allison Jones, and three-time Paralympic medalist and 2012 UCI World Cup Overall Joe Berenyi. The team includes 16 U.S. Paralympians, 13 of which competed in cycling at the London 2012 Paralympic Games and contributed to a total of 17 U.S. cycling medals won. Team USA finished in second place overall in the cycling competition in London – just two medals shy of host country Great Britain.

"The level of competition among our athletes continues to rise, and I was impressed by the performances of all 98 Para-cyclists who participated in the National Time Trial Championship yesterday,” said Ian Lawless, cycling high performance director, U.S. Paralympics. “Our partnership with USA Cycling continues to showcase the abilities of our athletes on the national stage, and has helped us select a very strong Team USA roster for the World Championships."

*Denotes U.S. Paralympians
*Joseph Berenyi (Aurora, Ill.)
Matthew Bigos (Cardiff by the Sea, Calif.)
Jonathan Copsey (Carmel Valley, Calif.), Marine Corps veteran
*Will Groulx (Portland, Ore.), Navy veteran
Aaron Keith (Woodinville, Wash.)
William Lachenauer (Reno, Nev.)
Jeffrey Martin (Oceanside, Calif.), Marine Corps veteran
*Steven Peace (Albion, Mich.), Navy veteran
*Clark Rachfal (Annapolis, Md.)
*Oz Sanchez (Los Angeles, Calif.), Marine Corps veteran
*David Swanson (Tucson, Ariz.), pilot
*Matthew Updike (Denver, Colo.)

*Monica Bascio (Evergreen, Colo.)
Shawn Chesire (Syracuse, N.Y.), Army veteran
*Alicia Dana (Putney, Vt.)
*Muffy Davis (Sun Valley, Idaho/Salt Lake City, Utah)
*Megan Fisher (Missoula, Mont.)
Samantha Heinrich (Spring Hill, Fla.)
*Allison Jones (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
*Cassie Mitchell (Atlanta, Ga.)
*Greta Neimanas (Chicago, Ill./Ashville, N.C.)
Rachael Scdoris (Bend, Ore.)
Jennifer Triplett (Colorado Springs, Colo.), pilot
Lisa Turnbull (Springfield, Ore.), pilot
Jamie Whitmore (Sacramento, Calif.)
*Karissa Whitsell (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
*Mackenzie Woodring (Belmont, Mich), pilot

The Para-cycling Road Race Championships (all categories) takes place tomorrow (Saturday) and the Criterium Championships for C categories (two-wheel bikes) is on Sunday in downtown Madison.

To view complete results from the USA Cycling Para-cycling Road Race National Championships, please visit https://www.usacycling.org/2013/amateur-road-para-nationals.

For more information, please contact Beth Bourgeois, U.S. Paralympics, at beth.bourgeois@usoc.org or 719-306-5639.