USA Hockey nominates players for 2014 U.S. Paralympic Team

By Matt Trevor | Dec. 11, 2013, 2 p.m. (ET)
The 2010 U.S. Paralympic Sled Hockey Team won the gold medal at the Vancouver 2010 Paralympic Winter Games
Team USA won a gold medal in sled hockey at the Vancouver 2010 Paralympic Winter Games. At the Sochi 2014 Paralympic Winter Games, March 7-16, the team hopes to become the first to defend a Paralympic title in the sport.

Sochi 2014 Paralympic Winter Games | Sochi, Russia | March 7-16, 2014

2014 U.S. Paralympic
Sled Hockey Team nominees
Subject to USOC approval

Tyler Carron (Fort Collins. Colo.)
Steve Cash (Overland, Mo.)
Taylor Chace (Hampton Falls, N.H.)
Declan Farmer (Tampa, Fla.)
Nikko Landeros (Johnstown, Colo.)
Jen Lee (San Francisco, Calif.)
Taylor Lipsett (Plano, Texas)
Dan McCoy (Cheswick, Pa.)
Kevin McKee (Davenport, Iowa)
Adam Page (Lancaster, N.Y.)
Josh Pauls (Green Brook, N.J.)
Rico Roman (Portland, Ore.)
Brody Roybal (Northlake, Ill.)
Paul Schaus (Buffalo, N.Y.)
Greg Shaw (Merritt Island, Fla.)
Josh Sweeney (Phoenix, Ariz.)
Andy Yohe (Bettendorf, Iowa)

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. ― USA Hockey announced today the 17-players nominated for the 2014 U.S. Paralympic Sled Hockey Team. The team, subject to approval by the United States Olympic Committee, features 11 forwards, four defensemen and two goaltenders.

"We're very happy with the roster we have put together," said Dan Brennan, general manager of the U.S. Paralympic Sled Hockey Team. "Going back to tryouts in the summer, I can't say enough about the depth of the talent we have available to us. It's a tremendous luxury to have, yet it made the final player selection very difficult."

The 2014 Paralympic Winter Games will take place March 7-16 in Sochi, Russia. All sled hockey games will be played at Shayba Arena. A complete game schedule, as well as television coverage and live streaming information, will be available at a later date.

"I am excited about this skilled group of players that we'll be taking to Sochi," said Jeff Sauer, head coach of the U.S. Paralympic Sled Hockey Team, who is in his third season leading the U.S. National Sled Hockey Team. "I like the chemistry that is building among them. We have some players with extensive Paralympic experience, in addition to younger players who can't wait to step up to the highest level of competition in our sport."

Eight players return from the 2010 U.S. squad that captured the gold medal at the Paralympic Winter Games in Vancouver, B.C. The list includes goaltender Steve Cash (Overland, Mo.), who was named the top goaltender of the Vancouver 2010 Paralympic Winter Games after not allowing a single goal in five games, and defenseman Taylor Chace (Hampton Falls, N.H.), who was named the best defenseman in Vancouver.

Additional Paralympic veterans include defensemen Nikko Landeros (Johnstown, Colo.), Josh Pauls (Green Brook, N.J.) and Andy Yohe (Bettendorf, Iowa); and forwards Taylor Lipsett (Plano, Texas), Adam Page (Lancaster, N.Y.) and Greg Shaw (Merritt Island, Fla.). Cash, Chace, Lipsett and Yohe also earned bronze medals at the 2006 Paralympic Winter Games in Torino, Italy.

Fifteen players on the Paralympic roster were members of the 2012-13 U.S. National Sled Hockey Team that garnered the silver medal at the 2013 International Paralympic Committee Sledge Hockey World Championship. That list includes Tyler Carron (Fort Collins. Colo.), Declan Farmer (Tampa, Fla.), Army Sgt. Jen Lee (San Francisco, Calif.), Dan McCoy (Cheswick, Pa.), Kevin McKee (Davenport, Iowa), Army veteran Rico Roman (Portland, Ore.), Marine Corps veteran Paul Schaus (Buffalo, N.Y.) and Marine Corps veteran Josh Sweeney (Phoenix, Ariz.), in addition to Cash, Chace, Landeros, Lipsett, Page, Pauls and Shaw.

Brody Roybal (Northlake, Ill.), who turned 15 in May, is the youngest player on the roster. He is making his debut with the national team this season.

The 2014 U.S. Paralympic Sled Hockey Team is the first to be nominated.

U.S. Paralympic Team nominees for alpine skiing, biathlon, cross-country skiing, sled hockey, snowboarding and wheelchair curling will be finalized by the USOC no later than Feb. 21, 2014, the deadline to submit Sochi 2014 Paralympic Winter Games delegation rosters to the International Paralympic Committee. Selection procedures and dates can be found at

For more information, contact Matt Trevor, USA Hockey, at (719) 538-1176 or