USA Wheelchair Rugby Team named for 2014

By U.S. Paralympics | Dec. 08, 2013, 8 p.m. (ET)
Joe Delagrave
Joe Delagrave, who helped Team USA to a bronze medal in wheelchair rugby at the London 2012 Paralympic Games, is one of the 16 athletes who will compete at the 2014 Wheelchair Rugby World Championships.

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. ― The 2014 USA Wheelchair Rugby National Team, which will compete for the United States at the 2014 Wheelchair Rugby World Championships in Odense, Denmark, was announced today by USA Wheelchair Rugby. The 16 man squad features 10 athletes who helped the squad to three gold medals on three continents this summer.

"We are very excited about this team," said James Gumbert, who is head coach for the USA Wheelchair Rugby National Team. "The mixture of current athletes along with returning veterans, sprinkled with developing talent, puts us in a great place moving forward".

In addition to the athletes who competed last year, the team features four players from the Beijing 2008 Paralympic Games gold medal winning squad along with two athletes from the 2014 development team.   

The U.S. will defend its Canada Cup and world championship titles next year. Throughout the next nine months, wheelchair rugby players will prepare for the tournaments with residential and weekend camps in Birmingham, Ala., at Lakeshore Foundation, which is the high performance management organization for USA Wheelchair Rugby.

Team USA reclaimed the No. 1 world ranking earlier this year after finishing third at the London 2012 Paralympic Games.

2014 USA Wheelchair Rugby National Team

  • Chuck Aoki
  • CJ Brown
  • Jeromy Brown
  • Andy Cohn
  • Chad Cohn
  • Ernie Chun
  • Joe Delagrave
  • Lee Ferdette
  • Derrick Helton
  • Chuck Melton
  • Eric Newby
  • Jason Regier
  • Nick Springer
  • Chance Sumner
  • Josh Wheeler
  • Joel Wilmoth